Skip to main content
  1. Tech
  2. Games
  3. Consoles

‘The Walking Dead’ video game intense violence, sexual themes and more detailed

See also

The Entertainment Software Rating Board today revealed their rating summary for the retail release of “The Walking Dead” video game. The adventure title, which is based on the popular comic book and television series, got tagged with an M (for Mature) rating due to blood, gore, intense violence, sexual themes and strong language. You can check out some screens from the game in the slideshow at the top of this article and the complete rating summary from the ESRB below:

More Photos

This is an adventure game based on the Walking Dead TV and comic-book franchise. Players assume the role of Lee Everett as he leads a group of survivors through Georgia during a zombie outbreak. As players progress through the story, they are presented with dialogue and action choices. These selections can sometimes lead to the death of characters and sequences that depict intense violence: a woman shooting herself in the head; a man's leg getting amputated with an ax; a man cutting off his own arm; zombies attacking, disemboweling victims. In some sequences, players use realistic firearms or other objects (e.g., hammer and pitchfork) to kill zombies and other human survivors. These sequences are sometimes accompanied by realistic gunfire, screams of pain, and large splashes of blood. Blood-splatter effects also appear in the surrounding environment and around several corpses. The game contains some suggestive material in the dialogue (e.g., “Might as well leave a sign out that reads, 'The men are out, come rape our women and children'”); in one sequence, a video depicts a man zipping up his pants and a woman buttoning up her blouse. The words “f**k,” “sh*t,” and “a*shole” can be heard in dialogue.

The retail release of “The Walking Dead” video game features all five previously download-only episodes on one disk: Episode 1 - A New Day, Episode 2 - Starved for Help, Episode 3 - Long Road Ahead, Episode 4 - Around Every Corner and Episode 5 - No Time Left. You can purchase the collection, which is now available on the Playstation 3 and Xbox 360, in the following link: “The Walking Dead”