Skip to main content

See also:

PS3 ‘Firmware 4.20’ now live for download, Details and download files available

Sony Firmware
Sony Firmware
Sony

Earlier today we reported that Sony Computer Entertainment would release an all-new firmware for the PS3 on June 26th – full story can be found here. Now, after several hours of waiting, Sony has released PlayStation 3 firmware 4.20 for download.

You may download the latest firmware for your region here:

USA PS3 Firmware 4.20

European PS3 Firmware 4.20

Japan Firmware 4.20

AU/NZ Firmware 4.20

PlayStation 3 firmware 4.20 will contain the following updates:

- When the wireless stereo headset (CECHYA-0080) is connected, you can now adjust the sidetone level for microphone audio. Select [Sidetone] under (Settings) > (Accessory Settings) > [Audio Device Settings].
For those of you who use the Wireless Stereo Headset to watch Blu-ray or DVD movies on your PS3, this system software update will also enable virtual surround sound functionality, giving you a superior audio experience.
--Off: Disable microphone audio from the headset
--1-5: Enable microphone audio from the headset

- You can now set the amount of time until the system automatically turns off. Under (Settings) > (Power Save Settings) > [System Auto-Off] you will be able amend the time for [Video/TV/Music/Photo] and for [Game/Other Features]:
Video/TV/Music/Photo - After 1 Hour, After 2 Hours, After 3 Hours, After 4 Hours, After 5 Hours, Off
Game/Other Features - After 1 Hour, After 2 Hours, After 3 Hours, After 4 Hours, After 5 Hours, Off
--o If you enabled [System Auto-Off] in system software prior to version 4.20, the selected time will be set for both [Video/TV/Music/Photo] and [Game/Other Features].
--o The default settings are [After 4 Hours] for [Video/TV/Music/Photo] and [After 1 Hour] for [Game/Other Features].

- Under (Games) > (Saved Data Utility (PS3™), you can now select multiple saved data items, and then either delete or copy them as a group.
--You cannot use [Copy Multiple] to select data that is copy-protected.
--Some saved data cannot be copied.
--The upper right corner of the screen displays:
the number of saved data items that are selected
the total number of saved data items
the total file size of the saved data items that are selected

Comments