Skip to main content
  1. Sports
  2. General Sports

Olympic gold medalist Lucas Makowsky retires

See also

According to the Canadian Press on Monday, Canadian Olympic gold medalist Lucas Makowsky of Regina, Saskatchewan retired at the age of 26. Makowsky, along with Denny Morrison of Chetwynd, British Columbia and Mathieu Giroux of Montreal, Quebec won the gold medal for Canada in the men's team pursuit at the 2010 Olympic Winter Games in Vancouver.

Makowsky, Morrison and Giroux posted a gold medal winning time in Vancouver of 3:41.37 to beat the American trio of Brian Hansen, Chad Hedrick and Jonathan Kuck who posted a silver medal winning time of 3:41.58. The Netherlands beat out Norway for bronze.

Makowsky is the second of the Canadian trio who won the gold medal in the men's team pursuit to retire in the past week. On May 21, Giroux announced his intention to retire to focus on his pharmacy studies at the University of Montreal. It would be a surprise if Morrison retired because he is skating at a very high level at the moment. Morrison won a silver medal in the men's 1000m and a bronze medal in the men's 1500m long track speed skating events at the 2014 Olympic Winter Games in Sochi.

Makowsky also won one prestigious individual medal in his international speed skating career. He won a bronze medal for Canada in the men's 1500m at the 2011 World Single Distance Speed Skating Championships in Inzell, Germany. Makowsky posted a time of 1:45.22 to beat out Stefan Groothuis of the Netherlands by 0.29 seconds. Makowsky, Morrison and Giroux also won a silver medal in the team pursuit, this time being beaten by the United States, who added the powerful Shani Davis to its squad.

Makowsky was one of eight Canadian Olympic gold medalists from the province of Saskatchewan at the 2010 Olympic Winter Games in Vancouver. He was joined by women's hockey players Colleen Sostorics of Kennedy, Saskatchewan, Meaghan Mikkelson of Regina, and Hayley Wickenheiser of Shaunavon, Saskatchewan, curler Ben Hebert of Regina and men's hockey players Patrick Marleau of Aneroid, Saskatchewan, Ryan Getzlaf of Regina and Brenden Morrow of Carlyle, Saskatchewan.



  • Stephen A. Smith apologizes
    Stephen A. Smith: Ray Rice rant was 'most egregious error of my career'
    Domestic Violence
  • Maria Kirilenko slideshow
    Feast your eyes on the former fiance of Alex Ovechkin: The newly-single Maria Kirilenko
    20 Photos
  • New York Yankees fan returns lost Red Sox World Series ring to owner
    MLB News
  • Brees gets tested
    Saints Drew Brees says he has 10 years left in NFL, immediately gets drug tested
    NFL News
  • Bryan subdues burglar
    Former WWE champ Daniel Bryan holds down burglar with submission move
    Fight Sports
  • Grave defiler identified
    Die-hard Browns fan identified in Art Modell’s grave defiling video
    Crimes & Court