Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Nashville Area Hispanic Chamber of Commerce Presents 9th Annual Awards

Shannon Holland, Percussion Director/Artistic Director of Nyama Drum Ensemble of The Global Education Center
Shannon Holland, Percussion Director/Artistic Director of Nyama Drum Ensemble of The Global Education Center
Cindy McCain

Last night atop the 27th floor Waller suite, the Nashville Area Hispanic Chamber of Commerce recognized top business and community leaders making Music City a place of diversity and achievement. The NAHCC's 9th Annual Business and Community Awards were held October 15 at the Nashville City Center celebrating Hispanic Heritage Month. NAHCC President/CEO Yuri Cunza, recipient of the Tennessee Titans' 2013 Hispanic Heritage Leadership Award, was Master of Ceremonies for the evening.

Top Awards Presented By Nashville Area Hispanic Chamber of Commerce
Cindy McCain

The night began with a VIP reception followed by attendees pledging allegiance to the flag presented by the Hermitage District Boy Scouts of America Order of the Arrow. Angela Martinez sang the National Anthem. Welcoming remarks were made by Waller Chairman John Tishler as well as NAHCC Board Chair Mario Ramos and Member Luis Parodi of 5th 3rd Bank.

Guest speakers Nada Latto of BMI and composer/songwriter/former President of the Nashville Film Festival, Stacy Widelitz, said Nashville is strengthened by Hispanic artists expanding and reflecting the city's diverse music scene. Entertainment was provided by The Global Education Center, Danny Salazar and Pino Squillace.

Award recipients were as follows:

Outstanding ‘Diversity Building’ Award--WALLER

Minority Business Enterprise Achievement Award--Alba Gonzalez Nylander

Emerging Entrepreneur Achievement Award--Loraine Segovia-Paz, Casa Segovia-Paz

Outstanding Professional Leadership Award--Luis Parodi, Fifth Third Bank

Corporate Leadership Award--Shawnta Lang-Idoko, Walmart

Outstanding Hispanic Business Achievement Award--Luis Ayala, Las Palmas Restaurant

Hispanic Entrepreneur Achievement Award--Victor Berrios, Jani-King

Diversity Champion of the Year Award--Joey Amato

NAHCC Amigo of the Year Award--David Tiller, U.S Small Business Administration

Education Advocate of the Year Award--Elliot Ozment, Ozment Law

Certificate of Appreciation for Outstanding Board Member Volunteer Service-- Brenna Davenport-Leigh

Certificate of Recognition for Outstanding Contributions to Hispanic Business Literacy--Paul Marchena, MELO Risk Management

NAHCC Board of Directors are Eva Angelina, Alba Gonzalez-Nylander, Santos Gonzalez, Paul Marchena, Shawnta Lang-Idoko, Luis Parodi, Delfine Perales-Fox, Mario Ramos, Loraine Segovia-Paz, Paul VanCotthem, and Lilian Yepez.

Report this ad