Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Name that $2 million tune: Rolling Stones cover Bob Dylan in Madrid

Yesterday, the original handwritten draft of “Like A Rolling Stone,” one of Bob Dylan’s more famous and revered compositions, sold for more than $2 million at Sotheby’s in New York. It was written in pencil on four sheets of hotel stationary by Dylan in 1965.

Set list, Madrid June 25, 2014
Rolling Stones

While Dylan was playing tonight in Bucharest, Romania, the Rolling Stones were performing at Madrid's Bernabeu Stadium. The band allows fans to choose one song request per night through an online poll. Possibly in honor of the sale of Dylan's handwritten draft, they gave Spanish fans a chance to request “Like A Rolling Stone,” as well as “Just My Imagination,” “Bitch,” “Street Fighting Man,” “Rocks Off,” and “Get Off of My Cloud," to be performed at tonight’s concert in Madrid. The Dylan classic was overwhelmingly chosen by fans, with over 80,000 votes.

The Rolling Stones originally covered “Like A Rolling Stone” on their 1995 album, “Stripped.” Dylan and members of the Stones performed the song on stage at the 1988 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame induction ceremony. When Dylan opened for the Stones in 1998, he joined the headliners onstage to sing “Rolling Stone” in Argentina and Brazil for four shows.

From the Rolling Stones’ official website: 14 ON FIRE: MADRID

The Rolling Stones tonight rocked Madrid! The band played a 19-song set to a sold out crowd of 60,000 fans.

Fans were treated to a very rare performance of ‘Like A Rolling Stone’, which won the online song vote in a landslide victory, receiving over 80,000 votes! The band also played ‘Angie’, ‘Out Of Control’ and ‘Midnight Rambler’ with special guest Mick Taylor.


  • Jumpin’ Jack Flash
  • You Got Me Rocking
  • It’s Only Rock ‘N’ Roll (But I Like It)
  • Tumbling Dice
  • Angie
  • Like A Rolling Stone (Song vote winner)
  • Doom And Gloom
  • Out Of Control
  • Honky Tonk Women
  • You Got The Silver (with Keith Richards on lead vocals)
  • Can’t Be Seen (with Keith Richards on lead vocals)
  • Midnight Rambler (with Mick Taylor)
  • Miss You
  • Gimme Shelter
  • Start Me Up
  • Sympathy For The Devil
  • Brown Sugar
  • You Can’t Always Get What You Want with Choir JORCAM
  • (I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction

Meanwhile, it was back to normal for Bob Dylan. After shaking things up over the past two dates, Dylan returned to the original set list formula in Bucharest, Romania, earlier this evening. Below is tonight's set list, courtesy Bob Links.

Sala Palatului (Palace Hall), Bucharest, Romania: June 25, 2014

  • 1. Things Have Changed
  • 2. She Belongs To Me
  • 3. Beyond Here Lies Nothin'
  • 4. What Good Am I?
  • 5. Waiting For You
  • 6. Duquesne Whistle
  • 7. Pay In Blood
  • 8. Tangled Up In Blue
  • 9. Love Sick
  • (Intermission)
  • 10. High Water (For Charley Patton)
  • 11. Simple Twist Of Fate
  • 12. Early Roman Kings
  • 13. Forgetful Heart
  • 14. Spirit On The Water
  • 15. Scarlet Town
  • 16. Soon After Midnight
  • 17. Long And Wasted Years
  • (encore)
  • 18. All Along The Watchtower
  • 19. Blowin' In The Wind

Keep up with Bob Dylan Examiner news. Just click on Subscribe above, or follow @DylanExaminer on Twitter. Harold Lepidus also writes the Performing Arts column for Thanks for your support.

Report this ad