Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

MSU Physician wins AMA Foundation Excellence in Medicine Award

Dr. Terrie Taylor of MSU won a 2011 AMA Excellence in Medicine Award for global health care.
Dr. Terrie Taylor of MSU won a 2011 AMA Excellence in Medicine Award for global health care.
Michigan State University

This last week of 2010 has been an eventful one for Dr. Terrie Taylor of Michigan State University.

On Monday, she was featured in an hour-long special on WKAR-TV portraying her fight against malaria in the African nation of Malawi.

Today, Michigan State University reported that Taylor received an American Medical Association Excellence in Medicine Award for her 24 years of dedicated work in Africa studying and treating malaria.

These two events capped off a year in which a team lead by Taylor received a $9.1 million federal grant to create new prevention and control strategies for malaria in Malawi.

Taylor won the Dr. Nathan Davis International Award In Medicine, one of four categories in which the AMA rewards excellence and service in health care. Named for the founder of the AMA, the Dr. Nathan Davis International Award in Medicine recognizes physicians whose influence reaches the international patient population and changes the future of their medical care and whose work improves health care globally, not just nationally.

Taylor qualified by demonstrating that she:

  • Dramatically improved medical practice, medical education, and medical research outside of the United States
  • Embodied the values of the medical profession through leadership, service, excellence, integrity and ethical behavior; and
  • Benefited the health and well-being of patients, especially children, suffering from malaria during a lifetime of service.

Taylor will also receive travel expenses and accommodations to the Excellence in Medicine Awards banquet on February 8, 2011 and the AMA National Advocacy Conference, February 8-10, 2011 in Washington D.C. Furthermore, the AMA will give a $2,500 grant to MSU.

Taylor shared the Dr. Nathan Davis International Award In Medicine with two other recipients, Kathleen Casey and Mildred Oliver, both of Chicago.

Casey created Operation Giving Back, which has placed countless surgeons in virtually every specialty in underserved areas throughout the world, supported more than 100 nonprofit organizations that serve needy surgical patients, and enhanced the capacity of the U.S. to respond globally to humanitarian crises.

Olivier has strived to eradicate preventable blindness from glaucoma in Haiti. An estimated 17,000 patients have been helped by her, her colleagues, and others she has trained.

In conjunction with Pfizer, the AMA gives out three other awards. The Pride in Profession Award recognizes physicians who aid underserved U.S. patients. The Jack B. McConnell, MD Award for Excellence in Volunteerism rewards senior physician volunteerism--those doctors who volunteer their services after retirement. The Leadership Award acknowledges medical students, residents, and early career physicians for their strong, nonclinical leadership skills in advocacy, community service, and/or education.

Three physicians each won the Pride In Profession and Excellence in Volunteerism awards, while 20 medical students and young doctors won the Leadership Awards.

"These award recipients are truly awe-inspiring," AMA Foundation President Barney Maynard said in a MSU press release. "They show everyone, inside and outside the medical community, the tremendous impact that one person can make in the world."

Readers in the WKAR-TV viewing area can watch re-broadcasts of the show featuring Taylor on both WKAR-TV and WKAR-HD on Wednesday December 29th at 11 P.M, Tuesday January 4th on WKAR World, and again on WKAR-TV and WKAR-HD on Friday January 7th at 10 P.M.


Report this ad