Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Sports
  3. Soccer

MLS announces Coach, Goalkeeper and Newcomer of the Year Awards

See also

MLS announced the 2013 Coach of the Year, Goalkeeper of the Year and Newcomer of the Year Awards on Wednesday and previously this week.

2013 Coach of the Year: Caleb Porter – Portland Timbers

In his first MLS season as a professional coach, Caleb Porter led the Timbers to a 14-5-15 record and the number one seed in the Western Conference. The club’s five losses tied the MLS record for fewest losses in a 34-game regular season. Porter guided the Timbers to a 15-game unbeaten streak this season – the longest by a first-year head coach in MLS – and 23-point turnaround from the 2012 season.

Under Porter’s guidance, the Timbers also registered an MLS-record, 43-goal turnaround in goal differential compared to the 2012 season while posting a season-high, plus-21 goal differential in 2013

The other two finalists were New York Red Bulls’ Mike Petke and Real Salt Lake’s Jason Kreis.

MLS Coach of the Year Winners:
2013: Caleb Porter – Portland Timbers
2012: Frank Yallop – San Jose Earthquakes
2011: Bruce Arena – LA Galaxy
2010: Schellas Hyndman – FC Dallas
2009: Bruce Arena – Los Angeles Galaxy
2008: Sigi Schmid – Columbus Crew
2007: Preki – Chivas USA
2006: Bob Bradley – Chivas USA
2005: Dominic Kinnear – San Jose Earthquakes
2004: Greg Andrulis – Columbus Crew
2003: Dave Sarachan – Chicago Fire
2002: Steve Nicol – New England Revolution
2001: Frank Yallop – San Jose Earthquakes
2000: Bob Gansler – Kansas City Wizards
1999: Sigi Schmid – Los Angeles Galaxy
1998: Bob Bradley – Chicago Fire
1997: Bruce Arena – D.C. United
1996: Thomas Rongen – Tampa Bay Mutiny

2013 Allstate Goalkeeper of the Year: Donovan Ricketts – Portland Timbers

Jamaican Donovan Ricketts held the last line of defense for the Timbers, who lost just five matches, tying the MLS record for fewest losses in a 34-game regular season. Ricketts also ranked among league leaders in wins (13), goals-against average (0.97) and saves percentage (73%) while logging three of the league’s top 10 longest streaks without conceding a goal during the regular season. Ricketts previously won the Goalkeeper of the Year award in 2010 and was selected to the MLS Best XI in 2010 and 2013.

The other two finalists were Real Salt Lake’s Nick Rimando and Sporting Kansas City’s Jimmy Nielsen.

Allstate Goalkeeper of the Year Winners:
2013: Donovan Ricketts – Portland Timbers
2012: Jimmy Nielsen – Sporting Kansas City
2011: Kasey Keller – Seattle Sounders FC
2010: Donovan Ricketts – LA Galaxy
2009: Zach Thornton – Chivas USA
2008: Jon Busch – Chicago Fire
2007: Brad Guzan – Chivas USA
2006: Troy Perkins – D.C. United
2005: Pat Onstad – San Jose Earthquakes
2004: Joe Cannon – Colorado Rapids
2003: Pat Onstad – San Jose Earthquakes
2002: Joe Cannon – San Jose Earthquakes
2001: Tim Howard – MetroStars
2000: Tony Meola – Kansas City Wizards
1999: Kevin Hartman – Los Angeles Galaxy
1998: Zach Thornton – Chicago Fire
1997: Brad Friedel – Columbus Crew
1996: Mark Dodd – Dallas Burn

2013 Newcomer of the Year: Diego Valeri – Portland Timbers

Valeri joined the Portland Timbers from Argentine club Atlético Lanús as a Designated Player and led the league in assists (13), while setting the Timbers' single-season records in both goals (10) and assists. Valeri also was selected to this year’s MLS Best XI.

The Newcomer of the Year honors the player who is in his first season in Major League Soccer, but has prior professional experience, making him ineligible for Rookie of the Year honors.

The other two finalists were New England Revolution defender Jose Goncalves and Vancouver Whitecaps FC midfielder Nigel Reo-Coker.

MLS Newcomer of the Year Winners:
2013: Diego Valeri – Portland Timbers
2012: Federico Higuain – Columbus Crew
2011: Mauro Rosales – Seattle Sounders FC
2010: Alvaro Saborio – Real Salt Lake
2009: Fredy Montero – Seattle Sounders FC
2008: Darren Huckerby – San Jose Earthquakes
2007: Luciano Emilio – D.C. United



Today's top buzz...

  • Coachella
    The set times you need to know have been announced for Coachella
    Festival Buzz
  • Lamar Odom
    The New York Knicks are giving Lamar Odom another shot in the NBA
    NBA Buzz
  • Porsha Williams
    See why 'Real Housewives of Atlanta' star Porsha Williams posed for this mug shot
    TV News
  • NHL tickets
    If you're looking to catch an NHL playoff game in NYC, don't expect to do so on a budget
    NHL Buzz
  • Transcendence
    Review: ‘Transcendence’ fascinates, but does it rise above the field?
    Movies Buzz
  • Kobe Bryant
    Kobe Bryant has agreed to cooperate with an all-access documentary about his life
    Sports Buzz

User login

Log in
Sign in with your email and password. Or reset your password.
Write for us
Interested in becoming an Examiner and sharing your experience and passion? We're always looking for quality writers. Find out more about and apply today!