Skip to main content

See also:

Miguel Cabera wins second consecutive AL MVP

Miguel Cabrera has won his second AL MVP
Miguel Cabrera has won his second AL MVP
Al Bello/Getty Images

It was announced yesterday, November 14, 2013, that Miguel Cabrera once again has won the American League Most Valuable Player Award. Miguel ran away with this award being amazingly consistent till a late season injury sidelined him. In fact 2013 may have been a more impressive display of his skill set than his Triple Crown winning 2012 season. Miguel hit .348 with 44 home runs and 137 RBI. That won him 23 of 30 first place votes for his second consecutive MVP award. Since teammate Justin Verlander won the MVP in 2011 the Tigers, as a team, have now won three straight MVP awards.

In terms of Tigers history Cabera has won the 11th MVP award in the team's long history. He is also the third Tigers player to win the award multiple times. Hal Newhouser (1944 and 1945) and Hank Greenberg (1935 and 1940) were the others. He is the first consecutive AL MVP since Frank Thomas won the award in 1993 and 1994 and the first consecutive MVP in either league since Albert Pujols won it with the St. Louis Cardinals in 2008 and 2009.

A team winning three straight MVP awards is not unheard of. In the history of the game it has happened seven other times. The thing that stands out however is before the San Francisco Giants won five straight MVP awards from 2000 Jeff Kent and Barry Bonds fourth consecutive MVP award in 2005, a team with three consecutive MVP's also won multiple titles in the same stretch (save the Philadelphia A's on the early 1930's). The Cincinnati Reds of the middle 1970's, the St. Louis Cardinals of the early 1940's, and the New York Yankees in the 1940's, 1950’s and 1960's.

However, along with their run of three consecutive MVP awards the Tigers' roster sports two of the last three Cy Young award winners (Justin Verlander 2011 and Max Scherzer 2013) that means in two of the last three seasons the Tigers have swept these two prestigious awards. The kind of individual performances from one roster is unprecedented. Only the Yankees from 1960 to 1963 came close. They won three consecutive MVP's with Roger Maris, Mickey Mantle, and Elston Howard, and the 1961 Cy Young award with Whitey Ford.

Related Links: