Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Mark Wahlberg declares he won’t get slimed at the Kids’ Choice Awards

The 2014 Kids’ Choice Awards airs on Saturday, so Mark Wahlberg took time out of his busy schedule to talk about his hosting duties with “Entertainment Tonight” on March 28. The 2014 host of the KCAs declared on-air that he would be the first ringmaster ever to avoid the infamous slime (20,000 gallons of green goop that's dropped on unsuspecting celebrities). “I’m unslimeable, he joked on Friday. “I’m too fast.” To watch the best slimes of all times, head to the Just Jared website.

Marl Wahlberg will host the 2014 Kids' Choice Awards, but declares that he will be the first host ever to avoid the slime.

The 27th Annual Kids' Choice Awards airs on Saturday, March 28 and this year promises to be bigger and better than ever. According to the Hollywood Reporter, kids will play a huge role in 2014 because the stage has been revamped to bring the audience closer to the action. Production designer Steve Bass explained, “We wanted to take advantage of the arena in the way we'd never done before and engulf the audience, 360 degrees.” For even more emphasis on slime, the producers have created a slime river (complete with a slime waterfall). Plus, some of the presenters will have to reach into a specially designed slime podium to pull out the winning envelope.

Speaking of slime, the best dumps of the past include Will Smith’s full-on assault on Justin Beiber in 2012 and Katy Perry’s facial attack in 2010. Host Mark Wahlberg has declared that he would escape the slime, but fans know that’s not the case. Look for a total slime attack towards the end of the broadcast.

Mark Wahlberg joins a distinguished list of past hosts of the Kids’ Choice awards including:

  • 2013: Josh Duhamel
  • 2012: Will Smith
  • 2011: Jack Black
  • 2010: Kevin James
  • 2009: Dwayne Johnson
  • 2008: Jack Black
  • 2007: Justin Timberlake
  • 2006: Jack Black
  • 2005: Ben Stiller
  • 2004: Cameron Diaz and Mike Meyers
  • 1997-2003: Rosie O’Donnell
  • 1996: Whitney Houston and Rosie O’Donnell
  • 10995: Whitney Houston
  • 1994: Joey Lawrence and Candace Cameron
  • 1993: Holly Robinson, Tori Spelling and Brian Austin green
  • 1992: Paula Abdul
  • 1991: Corin Nemec
  • 1990: Dave Coulier, Dave Fostino and Candace Cameron
  • 1989: Nicole Eggert and Wil Wheaton
  • 1988: Tony Danza, Brian Robbins and Dan Schneider

In addition to Mark Wahlberg, the following celebrities are set to attend the 2014 Kids’ Choice Awards: Austin Mahone, Lea Michelle, Kristen Bell, Jim Parsons and Kaley Cuoco from “The Big Bang Theory,” Brie and Nikki Bella, wrestler John Cena, Michael Strahan, Andy Samberg, Ross Lynch, Debby Ryan, Will Arnett, Tia Mowry-Hardrict, Chris Evans, Cody Simpson, Kel Mitchell, the “iCarly” and “Victorious” casts, Carlos PenaVega and James Maslow, Adam Sandler, Selena Gomez, and Zendaya. American Authors and Aloe Blacc are the evening’s performers.

As posted by “Entertainment Weekly,” Dan Schneider, the man behind “iCarly” and “All That” (plus seven other hugely successful Nick shows) will receive the first ever Lifetime Achievement Award. The self-described 48-year-old “perpetual adolescent” said that he is both honored and shocked by the distinction.

Fun facts about the Kids’ Choice Awards:

  • Brittney Spears has won the most Kids’ Choice Awards.
  • Rosie O’Donnell has hosted the most KCAs.
  • Hosts are typically slimed during the last moments of the show.
  • Leo DiCaprio was the first winner of the Big Green Help Award (2009).
  • Michelle Obama won a similar award in 2010 for her “Let’s Move” campaign.
  • The Hall of Fame Award was presented from 1991-2000. Past Hall of Famers include Paula Abdul (1991), Michael Jordan (1992), Robin Williams (1993), Boys II Men (1994), Whitney Houston (1995), Tim Allen (1996), Will Smith (1997), Tia and Tamera Mowry (1998), Jonathan Taylor Thomas (1999), and Rosie O’Donnell (2000).
  • The Hall of Fame Award was changed to the Wannabe Award in 2001. Past winners include Tom Cruise (2001), Janet Jackson (2002), Will Smith (2003), Adam Sandler (2004), Queen Latifah (2005), Chris Rock (2006), Ben Stiller (2007), and Cameron Diaz (2008).

The 2014 Kids’ Choice Awards airs at 8/7c on Saturday, March 29 on Nickelodeon. For a complete list of nominees, head to Katy Perry and “The Hunger Games: Catching Fire” have the most nominations this year. For a preview, be sure to check out the video above.

Do you want to stay in the know? Then sign up to get my articles personally delivered to your in-box. Just click on subscribe and you’ll stay up-to-the-minute with the latest TV news.

Report this ad