Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Luke Bryan, Blake Shelton performers at inaugural iHeartRadio Music Awards

Luke Bryan performs during ACM Presents: An All-Star Salute To The Troops at the MGM Grand Garden Arena on April 7, 2014 in Las Vegas, Nevada.
Luke Bryan performs during ACM Presents: An All-Star Salute To The Troops at the MGM Grand Garden Arena on April 7, 2014 in Las Vegas, Nevada.
Photo by Ethan Miller/Getty Images for ACM

Multi-platinum recording artist Luke Bryan will crash the party at the inaugural "iHeartRadio Music Awards," slated for May 1 on NBC. Hot off the heels of his latest blockbuster release, the country crooner will take the live show by storm. Likewise, Blake Shelton is also set to perform at the event, live from LA's Shrine Auditorium, as announced on Monday, April 21.

Drake, Pharrell Williams, Kendrick Lamar, Pitbull, Shakira, Thirty Seconds to Mars, Ariana Grande, Arcade Fire and Ed Sheeran are also on the lineup.

In addition to performances, the artists will share their LA Story and what brought them to where they are now. The Roxy and Hotel Cafe are just a few of the venues to be highlighted during the awards show. Other mainstream superstars expected at the event include Lady Gaga, Katy Perry, Aerosmith frontman Steven Tyler, Imagine Dragons, Chris Martin, Lorde and Demi Lovato, among others.

"What's unique about the iHeartRadio chart, Countdown and Awards is that all three are squarely focused on what the listener wants," Tom Poleman, President of National Programming Platforms for Clear Channel Media and Entertainment said in an official statement in Feb. "For the first time these three interconnected programs have shifted the power of how we measure an artist's success -- and in turn what's heard on the radio and celebrated with awards to the critically important listener."

With 13 awards to be handed out, several genres will be represented. The categories include: Artist of the Year, Best New Artist, Song of the Year, Country Song of the Year, EDM Song of the Year, Hip Hop/R&B Song of the Year, Alt Rock Song of the Year, Best Lyrics, Best Collaboration.

The awards show kicks off at 8/7c on May 1 on NBC. Set those DVRs!

Here are the nominees:

Artist of the Year:
Imagine Dragons
Justin Timberlake
Macklemore & Ryan Lewis
Maroon 5

Song of the Year:
“Hold On We’re Going Home” – Drake ft. Majid Jordan
“Mirrors” – Justin Timberlake
“Radioactive” – Imagine Dragons
“Stay” – Rihanna ft. Mikky Ekko
“The Monster” – Eminem ft. Rihanna

Best Collaboration:
“Holy Grail” – JAY Z ft. Justin Timberlake
“Stay” – Rihanna ft. Mikky Ekko
“Suit & Tie” – Justin Timberlake ft. JAY Z
“The Monster” – Eminem ft. Rihanna
“Timber” – Pitbull ft. Kesha

Best New Artist:
Florida Georgia Line
Icona Pop
Imagine Dragons
Macklemore & Ryan Lewis

Country Song of the Year:
“Boys ‘Round Here” – Blake Shelton
“Highway Don’t Care” – Tim McGraw with Taylor Swift
“It Goes Like This” – Thomas Rhett
“Mine Would Be You” – Blake Shelton
“That’s My Kind of Night” – Luke Bryan

Hip Hop/R&B Song of the Year:
“Blurred Lines” – Robin Thicke ft. T.I. & Pharrell
“Hold On We’re Going Home” – Drake ft. Majid Jordan
“Holy Grail” – JAY Z ft. Justin Timberlake
“Pour It Up” – Rihanna
“Started From The Bottom” – Drake

EDM Song of the Year:
“Get Lucky” – Daft Punk ft. Pharrell
“Stay The Night” – Zedd ft. Hayley Williams
“Summertime Sadness” – Lana Del Rey ft. Cedric Gervais
“Sweet Nothing” – Calvin Harris ft. Florence Welch
“Wake Me Up” – Avicii

Alternative Rock Song of the Year:
“Demons” – Imagine Dragons
“Do I Wanna Know?” – Arctic Monkeys
“Pompeii” – Bastille
“Royals” – Lorde
“Safe And Sound” – Capital Cities

Best Lyrics:
“Wake Me Up” – Avicii (Vocals by Aloe Blacc)
“I Love It (ft. Charli XCX)” – Icona Pop
“Say Something” – A Great Big World
“Same Love” – Macklemore & Ryan Lewis
“Wrecking Ball” – Miley Cyrus

Best Fan Army:
Arianators – Ariana Grande
Little Monsters – Lady Gaga
Lovatics – Demi Lovato
Mahomies – Austin Mahone
Rihanna Navy – Rihanna
Swifties – Taylor Swift

Report this ad