Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Indie CD tribute to Beatles' friend Harry Nilsson coming in February

The cover of the new tribute to Harry Nilsson
The cover of the new tribute to Harry Nilsson
Royal Potato Family Records

“This Is The Town: A Tribute to Nilsson (Volume One),” a new 20-track collection that celebrates the artistry and songs of singer-songwriter Harry Nilsson, who was also a close friend of John Lennon and Ringo Starr, is to be released in February, Royal Potato Family Records told Beatles Examiner Jan. 22. The album will be released Feb. 4 on limited edition yellow vinyl, CD and digital formats.

The album has been endorsed by Nilsson’s son, Zak. “There is a huge breadth of talent here. So many of these songs grabbed me from the first phrase, like it kicks in and I’m just sitting here thinking, ‘oh wow.’ Some of them are just absolutely perfect. They are covers of Harry’s songs, but they have a lot of those sort of signature Nilsson twists in them. The kind of versions only real fans of Harry’s music could put together,” he says.

The album was produced by Kenny Siegal and recorded over the course of 2013 at Old Soul Studios in Catskill, N.Y. It features a diverse gathering of artists performing songs spanning Nilsson’s career. These include “Early In The Morning” by Langhorne Slim, “Jump Into The Fire” by Low Cut Connie, “Are You Sleeping” by Marco Benevento, “Rainmaker” by Yellowbirds, “Think About Your Troubles” by Willy Mason and “Everybody’s Talkin’” by Tracy Bonham.

Harry’s daughter Annie also contributes a rendition of “Gotta Get Up,” along with the original illustrations that serve as the album’s artwork.

“Each artist has taken a Nilsson song that meant something to them, and with passion and inspiration, transformed it into something that is both a fitting tribute, and entirely their own,” said producer Siegal, who says he's already at work on the second album tribute.

The complete track listing:

  • Langhorne Slim – “Early In The Morning”
  • Dawn Landes – “You’re Breakin’ My Heart”
  • Low Cut Connie – “Jump Into The Fire”
  • Jenny O – “1941”
  • The Mommyheads – “Me and My Arrow”
  • Annie Nilsson – “Gotta Get Up”
  • Blueberry – “Poli High”
  • Willy Mason – “Think About Your Troubles”
  • Yellowbirds – “Rainmaker” (Nilsson /Martin)
  • Johanna Warren – “Without Her”
  • The Wiyos – “Nobody Cares About The Railroads Anymore”
  • Rasputina – “Sweethaven”
  • Church of Betty – “Without You”
  • Marco Benevento – “Are You Sleeping?”
  • Tracy Bonham – “Everybody’s Talkin’ (Fred Neil)”
  • Stellacutta – “Everything’s Got ‘Em”
  • Brian Dewan – “Coconut”
  • Johnny Society – “Mr. Richland’s Favorite Song”
  • Mamie Minch – “Don’t Forget Me”
  • Josh Kaufman – “I Said Goodbye to Me”
Report this ad