Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Historics: 2014 Historic Monaco Grand Prix, complete race results

Seven races took place on Sunday, May 11 on the Monaco Grand Prix circuit in Monte Carlo. They were of the historic and vintage variety taking part in the ninth edition of the Historic Monaco Grand Prix. Winners in all classes have been announced by the Automobile Club de Monaco (ACM).

Historics: 2014 Historic Monaco Grand Prix, complete race results
Photo by Mark Thompson/Getty Images

Each race lasted about 20 minutes and, depending on the car class and the speeds the vehicles are capable of doing as well as how fast they are driven by the amateur racers competing in them, most drivers took somewhere between 10-18 laps of the famous road circuit in that amount of time. Races for Series A through G sent glory and bragging rights, not to mention a laurel wreath and trophy from Monaco, home with several excited competitors.

Below are the complete race results from Sunday's events.

Series A was made up of "Pre-war Voiturettes and Grand Prix cars," according to ACM. The winner of Sunday's race was British driver Matthew Grist in a 1934 Alfa Romeo TIPO B (P3) with a best lap time of 1:59.058. Coming in second was Irish racer, Paddins Dowling in a 1936 ERA B. Third place went to Nicholas Topliss of Great Britain in a 1935 ERA A.

The remaining finishers, in order, were: David Morris, Tony Smith, Andrew Cannon, Robert Newall, David Hands, Julia De Baldanza, Martin Halusa, and Thierry Chanoine. Rainier Ott did not complete a lap, and Adam Berryman did not start. There were no Americans in this field.

The winner of Series B, "Pre-1961 F1 Grand Prix cars and F2," according to ACM, was Roger Wills driving a 1959 Cooper T51 (Climax) with a best lap time of 1:56.001. Coming in second in this race was Frank Stippler in a 1958 Maserati 250 F ("Piccolo"), and third place went to Tony Wood driving a 1959 TEC-MEC 250 F-F1.

The rest of this large field finished in this order: John Chisholm, Robert Hall, Barrie James Baxter, William Nuthall, Joachin Folch-R, Ian Nuthill, Paul Grant, David Wenman, Marshall Bailey, Steve Russell, Eddie McGuire, Adrien Van Der Kroft, Alberto Scuro, Alan Miles, John Bussey, Timothy Bailey, Barry Wood, Tom Price, Robert Boos, Jose Manuel Albuquerq, Paul Griffin, Jean Georges Van Praet, Helmut Gassmann, Marco Masini, Julia De Baldanza, Klaus Lehr, and Eric Leroy.

Another large field of cars, Series C, was made up of "Sports Racing cars raced from 1952 to 1955 inclusive period," according to ACM. The winner of this race had a best lap time of 1:59.920 driving a 1952 Jaguar C Type. That driver was Alex Buncombe of Great Britain. Second place went to John Ure, also of Great Britain, driving a 1953 Cooper Bristol T24. Third place went to Brit Frederic Wakeman driving a 1955 Cooper T38.

The rest of the field finished in this order: Michael Willms, Nicolas Chambon, Gavin Pickering, Till Bechtolsheimer, Conrad Ulrich, Derek Hood, Lukas Huni, Martin Hunt, Jean-Jacques Bally, James Wood, Tony Wood, Wolfgang Friedrichs, Stephen Bond, William Nuthall, David Franklin, Roberto Crippa, Nigel Webb, Carlo Vogele, Carlo Vogele, Tim Summers, Robert Francis, Andrew Frankel, Alain De Cadenet, Martin Melling, Lutz Rathenow, Arnold Meier, Gordon McCulloch, Michael Roder, "Ned" Spieker, John Breslow, Carlos De Miguel, Diego Ribadeneira, Ian Dalglish, Alan Patterson, and Christian Dumolin. Najeeb Khan and Vanessa Finburgh did not complete a lap in this race; Juan Quintano did not start.

According to ACM, Series D includes "1500c.c F1 Grand Prix cars from 1961 to 1965 inclusive." Winning this contest was Andy Middlehurst of Great Britain driving a 1962 Lotus 25 (Climax). His fastest lap was 1:53.641. In second was Sidney Hoole also of Great Britian in a 1963 Cooper T66 (Climax). Third place in this race went to Italian driver Tommaso Gelmini in a 1963 Scirocco BRM.

The rest of the field for Series D finished the race in this order: Nigel Williams, Dan Collins, Kurt Del Bene, Roy Walzer, Peter Studer, Michel Wanty, John of B, John Elliott, Andrew Beaumont, Federico Buratti, Guy Peeters, Rudolph Ernst, Franck Trouillard, John Romano, Rodger Newman, Marco Cajani, Scotty Taylor, David Clark, John Evans, Jorge Ferioli, Jason Wright, Marco Rollinger, Joseph Colasacco, and Charles McCabe. Paul Drayson did not start.

Japanese driver Katsuaki Kubota won the Series E race for "F1 Grand Prix cars from 1966 to 1972 inclusive," according to ACM. Driving a 1971 Lotus 72, his fastest lap time was 1:35.980. Placing second in this race was American Duncan Dayton driving a 1970 Brabham BT33. Third place went to Brit Robert Hall driving a 1971 Matra MS120B.

Series E ended with drivers finishing in the following order: Stuart Hall, Laurent Fort, Roger Wills, Max Smith-Hilliard, Scott Walker, Richard Smeeton, Franco Meiners, Roald Goethe, Bruno Ferrari, Rudolf Ernst, Steven Tillack, Ray Langston, Richard Griot, Michael Lyons, Andrew Smith, David Ferrer, and Joaquin Folch-R. Robert Lamplough did not start, and John Goodman was excluded from the event.

"F1 cars, non-ground effects, from 1973 to 1978 inclusive," describes the vehicles in Series F, according to ACM. Winning this race was Michael Lyons driving a 1977 Hesketh 308E and clocking his fastest lap at 1:33.904. Coming in second was Charles Nearburg in a 1976 March 761B. Nick Padmore took third place driving a 1975 Williams FW05.

For the Series F race, the rest of the field finished in this order: Jean-Denis Deletraz, Christophe D'Ansembourg, Manfredo Rossi Di Montelera, Sam Hancock, Hans Peter, Joachin Folch-R, Alain Plasch, Max Smith-Hilliard, Douglas Mockett, James Hagan, Andrew Beaumont, Christopher Locke, Roald Goethe, Gregoire Audi, Christopher Drake, Keith Frieser, Frederic Fatien, Philippe Bonny, Frank Lyons, Richard Carlino, Richard Griot, Katsuaki Kubota, Patrick D'Aubreby, Ron Maydon, Nicholas Colyvas, Dany Rollinger, David Ferrer, Mark Higson, Chris Mac Allister, Zak Brown, and Mark White. Guillaume Collinot did not start.

Finally, the Series G race was made up of "2-litre, F3 cars from 1974 to 1978 inclusive," according to ACM. Driving a fastest lap time of 1:40.900 in a 1976 Chevron B34 (Toyota) was the winner of this race, Italian driver Paolo Barilla. Second place went to another Italian, Valerio Leone in a 1978 March 783 (Toyota), and coming in third in this race was Oliver Hancock of Great Britain driving a 1978 Lola T670 (Toyota).

The rest of Series G's competitors finished in this order: Stefano Rosina, Tiff Needell, Maurizio Bianco, Roland Wiltschegg, Fabrice Notari, Alexander Deighton, Falk Kunstser, Frederic Da Rocha, Michel Ghio, Richard Eyre, Jean Legras, Richard Dutton, Jonathan Price, John Doe, Richard Piper, David Clark, Marco Fumagalli, Piero Lottini, Michael Richings, Hugh Price, James Timms, Povl Barfod, Giacomo Talleri, Leif Bosson, Tupper Robinson, Angela Grasso, Nick Taylor, David Shaw, Federico Ferioli, Stefano Garzi, Marc Fagginato, Andrea Giuliani, and Frederic Lajoux.

In Series G, Marco Gian and Marcus Mussa did not complete a lap; Richard Smeeton and Peter Hug did not start.

The Historic Monaco Grand Prix is an exciting event for competitors on the historic motor racing circuit. It is on the "must-do" or "bucket" list of many drivers, though several who have raced there once wish to return there to fight another day. The racing meeting is held every other year two weeks before the Formula 1 Monaco Grand Prix. Historic cars are driven on the same challenging street circuit that the F1 cars will race on later in May.

The 10th edition of the Historic Monaco Grand Prix will be held in May, 2016.

Report this ad