Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

GLAAD announces nominees for 25th annual media awards

GLAAD Media Awards
GLAAD Media Awards

GLAAD, the LGBT media advocacy organization, has announced the nominees for its 25th Annual GLAAD Media Awards, presented nationally by Ketel One Vodka, Wells Fargo, and Hilton Worldwide. The awards recognize and honor media for outstanding images of the LGBT community.

GLAAD announced 93 nominees in 20 English-language categories, and 37 Spanish-language nominees in 9 categories. In the English-language categories, cable networks earned 28 nominations, broadcast networks garnered 11 nominations, and Netflix received its first nomination. Complete list of nominees.

Among the nominees:

  • Netflix's Orange is the New Black
  • ABC Family's The Fosters
  • BBC America's Orphan Black
  • HBO's Behind the Candelabra starring Michael Douglas and Matt Damon
  • Blue Is the Warmest Color, winner of the Palme d'Or at the 2013 Cannes Film Festival
  • Dallas Buyers Club
  • Kill Your Darlings, starring Daniel Radcliffe and Dane DeHaan
  • Call Me Kuchu and God Loves Uganda, both documentaries about LGBT people in Uganda
  • Bridegroom about Shane Bitney Crone and the death of his partne
  • Interviews with NBA players Jason Collins and Kenneth Faried on Oprah's Next Chapter and E:60, respectively
  • Ariel Levy's profile of Edie Windsor in The New Yorker
  • MSNBC's Melissa Harris-Perry
  • Huffington Post Live for its interview with Janet Mock and Laverne Cox
  • Lady Gaga for her ARTPOP album.

Spanish-language nominees include:

  • The Univision novela Amores Verdaderos, which included the wedding of a gay couple
  • Al Punto for its coverage of the Supreme Court ruling on DOMA
  • Sábado Gigante for its interview with Karina Hermosillo, the first openly gay beauty pageant contestant on Nuestra Belleza Latina.

"Since its inception 25 years ago, the GLAAD Media Awards have reshaped the news and entertainment industries, inspiring thoughtful and inclusive characters and plotlines that have driven equality forward," said GLAAD President Sarah Kate Ellis. "This year has brought momentous progress for LGBT people and families - and our nominees have created images and stories that continue to challenge misconceptions, shatter stereotypes, and change hearts and minds of millions all across the globe."

The GLAAD Media Awards ceremonies will be held in Los Angeles on April 12, 2014, at The Beverly Hilton, and in New York on May 3 at the Waldorf Astoria New York. Special Honorees for each city and recognition of an international LGBT advocate will be announced in coming weeks.

The GLAAD Media Awards recognize and honor media for their fair, accurate and inclusive representations of the LGBT community and the issues that affect their lives. The awards also fund GLAAD's work to amplify stories from the LGBT community and issues that build support for equality.

Report this ad