Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

‘Dragon Age: Inquisition’ class details outline battle mages and engineers

Dragon Age: Inquisition
Dragon Age: Inquisition
Photo courtesy of Electronic Arts, used with permission

Like both previous installments of the series, players will be able to select a class for their character in Dragon Age: Inquisition. It was previously revealed that fans would be able to choose between playing as a warrior, mage, or rogue. However, gamers will also be able to specialize in advanced classes within each category which will alter the way the game is played. As Dragon Age Creative Director Mike Laidlaw revealed on April 22, Bioware released a new revamped website for the upcoming game on Tuesday which details some of these new class specializations.

Each of the primary classes will feature different play styles, abilities, and certain aspects of the story will change depending on class selection. Even inside each class, however, abilities will be different depending upon which specialization is taken. According the new class page from the official website which released on Tuesday, it looks like every class will have three different specializations to choose from but the developer is only revealing one for each class at this time.

Bioware is starting with a few surprises when they decided to announce the first set of advanced classes. While one sounds like a standard tanking class, the other two examples will certainly be interesting additions to the world of Thedas. The mage’s advanced class sounds reminiscent of the Arcane Warrior from Dragon Age: Origins while one of the rogue’s specializations will be very similar to an engineer.

The Knight Enchanter is the first announced specialization for mage characters. These apostates will be able to protect themselves with magic in much the same fashion that a warrior does with his armor. Additionally, Knight Enchanters can create magical blades which they will wield in battle as martial combatants.

Offering a class option that sounds completely different from anything found in previous entries of the Dragon Age franchise, the Artificer advanced class for rogues will give players the ability to utilize various inventions. Artificers will make use of mechanical traps and similar creations.

The first warrior specialization returns from Dragon Age: Origins. The Champion is a noble fighter who defends his comrades in battle. Champions wear the strongest armors and position themselves so that they take the brunt of their opponent’s attacks so that their teammates are free from danger.

Dragon Age: Inquisition launches on Oct 7 for Xbox One, PS4, PC, Xbox 360, and PS3. In addition to offering a selection of playable classes, players will also be able to decide both the race and gender of the game’s protagonist. Bioware will likely reveal more of the upcoming title’s class specializations before it launches this fall.

Report this ad