Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Dingell, Walberg cruise to easy primary victories

Debbie Dingell won an easy victory to earn the Democratic nomination for her husband's seat in Congress.
Debbie Dingell won an easy victory to earn the Democratic nomination for her husband's seat in Congress.
Photo by Bill Pugliano/Getty Images

Tuesday night, an incumbent and the wife of a retiring incumbent cruised to victory in their respective party's primaries.

Debbie Dingell defeated Raymond Mullins for the Democratic nomination to succeed her husband John in the Twelfth Congressional District, which includes Ann Arbor, Ypsilanti, and surrounding areas of eastern Washtenaw County as well as western and southern Wayne County.

Tim Walberg fended off challenger Douglas North for the Republican nomination in the Seventh Congressional District, which encompasses western and northern Washtenaw County along with a wide swath of southern Michigan extending from Monroe County to Branch County, as well as the counties of Jackson and Eaton.

With 86% of precincts reporting as of midnight, MLive reports that Dingell earned 40,119 votes (78%) to Mullins' 11,544 (22%). Dingell's showing was even stronger in Washtenaw County, with 16,951 votes (79.02%) so far to Mullins' 4,465 (20.81%).

On her Facebook page, Dingell thanked her supporters, saying that that "made this day possible." She also credited a special guest to the victory party, saying "It's been a great day, made more so by a surprise visit this evening from Governor Jennifer Granholm."

Dingell will face Republican Terry Bowman, Libertarian nominee Bhagwan Dashairya, and independent candidate Gary Walkowicz in November.

MLive also reported that Walberg was defeating North with 85% of the precincts counted. Throughout the district, Walberg had garnered 31,924 votes (79%) to North's 8,421 (21%). His lead was slightly less in Washtenaw County, where he earned 3,895 (78.39%) to North's 1,069 (21.51%).

In his statement on his Facebook page, Walberg said he was "pleased with tonight’s victory. It's been a privilege to listen to and learn from the people of the 7th District. Thanks for all your support!"

Walberg will contend with Democrat Pam Byrnes, Libertarian Ken Proctor, U.S. Taxpayers Party nominee Rick Strawcutter, and independent candidate David Swartout in the general election.

Report this ad