Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Arts & Entertainment
  3. TV

Demi Lovato's 'Really Don't Care' video featuring Cher Lloyd gets mixed reviews

See also

On June 26, 2014, the music video for Demi Lovato's "Really Don't Care" single featuring Cher Lloyd premiered. The video (which includes footage of Lovato performing at a parade at the 2014 Los Angeles Gay Pride Festival) has been getting mixed reactions from the public. (See a sampling of comments at the end of this article.)

"Really Don't Care" (the fourth single from Lovato's 2013 album "Demi") has flopped on the Billboard 100 chart, where it peaked at No. 83.* However, the music video for the song might help increase sales. After the video premiered, "Really Don't Care" became the No. 1 topic on the Billboard's Twitter chart on June 26, 2014. Lovato and Lloyd performed "Really Don't Care" on "Good Morning America" on June 6, 2014.

*[July 2, 2014 update: Billboard's Twitter chart is factored into chart rankings for the Billboard Hot 100. For this reason, "Really Don't Care" re-entered the Billboard Hot 100 chart at No. 37 after this article was originally written.]

As previously reported, Lovato has been making some high-profile appearances at LGBT (lesbian gay bisexual transgender) events in June 2014, which is LGBT Pride Month. On June 23, she was a presenter at Logo TV's "Trailblazers" event in New York City. Before giving an award to the Netflix series "Orange Is the New Black," Lovato said in a speech, according to ABC News: "I've never spoken about this before, but my grandfather himself was a trailblazer. He was brave enough to come out in the 1960s, and I feel a lot of my spirit has come from him. He passed away a few years later and I only wish he could have been able to see all the progress that has been made." The "Trailblazers" event will be televised on Logo on June 26, 2014.

On June 8, Lovato performed at a parade at the Los Angeles Gay Pride Festival in West Hollywood, Calif. And on June 29, 2014, she will perform at the Gay Pride Parade in New York City.

Lovato was a judge on "The X Factor" U.S. in 2012 and 2013. In December 2013, she quit the show at the end of the show's third season because she said she wanted to focus on her music career. Fox cancelled "The X Factor" U.S. in February 2014.

Lloyd came in fourth place on "The X Factor" U.K. in 2010. She has since released two albums:

Lovato's "Neon Lights" North American tour took place in February and March 2014. The opening acts were "X Factor" alumni Fifth Harmony (on all tour dates), Little Mix (on select tour dates) and Lloyd (on select tour dates). Lovato has announced that she is doing a "Demi" world tour in 2014. So far, the tour has announced concert dates in North America in September and October 2014.

Here is a sampling of Internet comments about the "Really Don't Care" music video:

From Demi Lovato's official Facebook page:

"I looooove it!!! Shedding happy tears because Demi accepts everyone for who they are and she wants them to be proud of it. That's my idol!"

"Honestly, not hatin. I really love her, but this song sounds so unoriginal. It starts like icona pop's I don't care, or whatever it's called."

"Love love love this song and DEMI LOVATO!!"

"Awful. Unliking you! You've changed a lot."

"Wasnt anything that great really...not impressed..."

From Demi Lovato's official YouTube channel:

"I love them both and I respect gay people but I don't really like the video."

"I do not like to be treated only gays, expected more from this video because the song is great and I love it, I would have liked something like Neon Lights, I just liked the part where Travis goes, and Demi as always beautiful. I expected more from the videos of this song that is great and I love it, but both disappointed me, sorry is my view."

"Well the song is about not caring about what people think and being ok within your own skin so I can see why she would go this route. I actually kind of like it since it's NOT like Neon Lights or anything she's done before."

"I mean I've seen the typical dancing in the club getting hot and sexy music video before. Which is fine really. It's serves it's purpose but I like this one more because it broke away from that aspect."

"I at first didn't understand the the video, since i thought the song was just about overcoming the break up and not giving a shit about it. But I love the deeper meaning, and it's just amazing... One day no one will remember that the LGBT community was a group of outcasts. Love Demi, love the vid, love the song."

"I LOVE IT!! GO DEMI!! I love the message in the video.. TO ALWAYS BE YOURSELF AND NEVER GIVE A SHIT WHAT OTHERS THINK!!"

"Even if the song and the event didn't go together, it still looked perfect i love this and heck yes for TLGB i support it! plus demi in red lipstick insert heart crying face emoji"

"My queen and my princess are so beautiful. WTF? Why Perez Nilton is on video! I hate that blooger, he talks bad of everybody. Great video, this a good inspiration."

"I HAVE BEEN WAITING FOR THIS FOR ALL MY LIFE THANK GOD."

''Maybe if I support the gay comunity I'll become relevant'' Being gay is more than wearing slutty shorts, showing your bulge, sparks, or rainbow wigs, you know? So stereotypical, even a bit offensive to be honest. That's my opinion I hope you catty bitches respect that. I'm not hating I even have her album and I kinda enjoy it."

"Travis looks so bored playing that boring beat....wondering how much she paid him to be in the video?"

"I LOVED THIS DEMI. This should be video of the year or something. I really liked it."

"Amazing setting for the theme of the song. I REALLY DON'T CARE what anyone thinks, BE YOURSELF!!"

"You go girl!! Demi your such an inspiration to everyone!! Its amazing LA Pride looks fun I'd love to go to one. someday.. I'm a supporter not a hater. I hate how they use the bible and gods word. But all I gotta say Is where in the Bible does it say same love is a Sin. #ISupportGayRights"

"It's so beautiful, love totally the video. I love u Cher and Demetria, you're amazing."

"Thaat's what I love about Demi! We're all equal!"

"Loved the song and the video is amazing! Ily Demi! Homophobes fuck off. I'm pretty sure those people holding the signs about gays going to hell are from Westboro Baptist church."

"Why the Hell support Gay Rights ???!!! god didn't create us for this. male in love with a male ?? how come ???! this is forbidden in every single religion. ):"

Advertisement

Related Videos:

  • 'AGT' 2014 Semifinals: A 'Seven Nation Army' can't hold Miguel Dakota back
    <iframe width="560" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/KpKS82GzMMs?VQ=HD720&amp;allowfullscreen=true&amp;autoplay=1"></iframe>
  • 'The Young and the Restless': Ratings' rise defies detractors' cries
    <div class="video-info" data-id="518292682" data-param-name="playList" data-provider="5min" data-url="http://pshared.5min.com/Scripts/PlayerSeed.js?sid=1304&width=480&height=401&playList=518292682&autoStart=true"></div>
  • Seth Gilliam
    <div class="video-info" data-id="518178940" data-param-name="playList" data-provider="5min" data-url="http://pshared.5min.com/Scripts/PlayerSeed.js?sid=1304&width=480&height=401&playList=518178940&autoStart=true"></div>