Skip to main content
  1. News
  2. Politics
  3. Policy & Issues

Constitutional Carry possible in Tennessee?

See also

Today, the Tennessee Senate passed SB2424, a Vermont* style, permit-less open-carry bill. This bill would further restore the basic human right to self-defense in Tennessee. The question is, will the House follow suit?

The companion bill, HB2409, if passed, would give Governor Haslam the opportunity to make good on the promise he made in a Tennessee Firearms Association (TFA) meeting on October 18, 2010, on Vermont Style Carry.

Here is a transcription of part of that meeting:

TFA member,

If the legislature were to pass a Vermont style carry, and bring it to you, would you sign it?

Candidate (Knoxville Mayor) Haslam,

Yes, yes I would . . . . If the legislature passed it and brought that to me, I said I would sign it.

You can watch the YouTube video HERE. Fast-forward to 3 min 45 sec.

*Vermont style carry gets its name from the fact that permits are not required in the state of Vermont. In Vermont if a person can legally own a gun, they can legally carry it.

Urgent action is needed on this bill.

From TFA:

The legislature is set to close in just days, so it is CRITICAL that you call and e-mail the following legislators on the House Finance Committee and tell them to "PASS HB2409 TO THE FLOOR"

It is also critical to call and email the Speaker Beth Harwell with demands that she intervene and bring this bill immediately to the floor.

Her contact information is:

Phone (615) 741-0709
Fax (615) 741-4917
speaker.beth.harwell@capitol.tn.gov

This is our last chance this year, it is up to you!

CALL EACH OF THESE LEGISLATORS RIGHT NOW AND TELL THEM TO PASS HB 2409 TO THE HOUSE FLOOR FOR A FULL VOTE!!!

(The ones with the asterisk* appear to be opposed to the bill or "fence sitting" and actively trying to infringe your right to keep and bear arms)

*Charles Sargent, Chair (615) 741-6808 rep.charles.sargent@capitol.tn.gov

*David Alexander, Vice-Chair(615) 741-8695 rep.david.alexander@capitol.tn.gov

*Gerald McCormick (615) 741-2548 rep.gerald.mccormick@capitol.tn.gov

*Steve McDaniel (615) 741-0750 rep.steve.mcdaniel@capitol.tn.gov

*Dennis Roach (615) 741-2534 rep.dennis.roach@capitol.tn.gov

*Karen Camper (615) 741-1898 rep.karen.camper@capitol.tn.gov

*Michael Harrison (615) 741-7480 rep.mike.harrison@capitol.tn.gov

Joe Armstrong (615) 741-0768 rep.joe.armstrong@capitol.tn.gov

Kevin Brooks (615) 741-1350 rep.kevin.brooks@capitol.tn.gov

Kent Calfee (615) 741-7658 rep.kent.calfee@capitol.tn.gov

Mike Carter (615) 741-3025 rep.mike.carter@capitol.tn.gov

Barbara Cooper (615) 741-4295 rep.barbara.cooper@capitol.tn.gov

Craig Fitzhugh (615) 741-2134 rep.craig.fitzhugh@capitol.tn.gov

Steve Hall (615) 741-2287 rep.steve.hall@capitol.tn.gov

David Hawk (615) 741-7482 rep.david.hawk@capitol.tn.gov

Matthew Hill (615)-741-2251 rep.matthew.hill@capitol.tn.gov

Curtis Johnson (615) 741-4341 rep.curtis.johnson@capitol.tn.gov

Larry Miller (615) 741-4453 rep.larry.miller@capitol.tn.gov

Gary Odom (615) 741-4410 rep.gary.odom@capitol.tn.gov

Johnny Shaw (615) 741-4538 rep.johnny.shaw@capitol.tn.gov

Here is an email list if you would like to copy and paste in to your e-mail client:
rep.charles.sargent@capitol.tn.gov, rep.david.alexander@capitol.tn.gov, rep.gerald.mccormick@capitol.tn.gov,rep.steve.mcdaniel@capitol.tn.gov, rep.dennis.roach@capitol.tn.gov, rep.karen.camper@capitol.tn.gov,rep.mike.harrison@capitol.tn.gov, rep.joe.armstrong@capitol.tn.gov, rep.kevin.brooks@capitol.tn.gov,rep.kent.calfee@capitol.tn.gov, rep.mike.carter@capitol.tn.gov, rep.barbara.cooper@capitol.tn.gov,rep.craig.fitzhugh@capitol.tn.gov, rep.steve.hall@capitol.tn.gov, rep.david.hawk@capitol.tn.gov,rep.matthew.hill@capitol.tn.gov, rep.curtis.johnson@capitol.tn.gov, rep.larry.miller@capitol.tn.gov,rep.gary.odom@capitol.tn.gov, rep.johnny.shaw@capitol.tn.gov

In addition, do not forget to contact your personal House members and demand that they intervene!!! They can and should sign on immediately as co-sponsors on this bill.

If you like this article, please click subscribe next to my name near the top, and share via email and your social media. Also, check out my Good Hill Press blog.

-------------------------------------------

A prudent person foresees danger and takes precautions. The simpleton goes blindly on and suffers the consequences. Proverbs 22:3 (NLT)

Disclaimer: The information and ideas presented in this column are provided for informational purposes only. Firearms, like cars, kitchen knives and life itself all can be dangerous. You should get professional training as part of any plan to use firearms for any purpose. I have made a reasonable, good-faith effort to assure that the content of this column is accurate. I have no control over what you do, and specifically accept no responsibility for anything you do as a result of reading my columns. Any action or lack of action on your part is strictly your responsibility.

Advertisement

News

  • Sterling loses Clippers
    Donald Sterling loses big in court with no option for an appeal
    Video
    Video
  • Russia violating arms treaty?
    Russia is testing a long-range missile which violates an INF arms treaty
    World News
  • Ebola outbreak
    The Ebola epidemic in West Africa has proven to be quite difficult to contain
    Health News
  • Virginia same-sex marriage
    The ban on same-sex marriage is ruled unconstitutional in Virginia
    US News
  • Abigail Hernandez suspect
    A suspect is in police custody for the disappearance of Abigail Hernandez
    Crime
  • Bachelorette finale
    'The Bachelorette' is in the books, which lucky guy got Andi's final rose?
    TV