Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

College football's national champions went 73-0 in 2013 season

Florida State's BCS championship clinched an undefeated season. College football's 2013 national champions went a combined 73-0.
Florida State's BCS championship clinched an undefeated season. College football's 2013 national champions went a combined 73-0.
Photo by Harry How/Getty Images

History was made Monday night in Pasadena, California. Florida State captured the final BCS championship of the era before college football's top level of competition adopts a four-team playoff model in 2014. Quarterback Jameis Winston became the first freshman quarterback to lead his team to a BCS championship, and the Seminoles set the new single season scoring record in the process. But there was other history made with Florida State's triumph over Auburn. For the first time in college football history, each respective national champion from the various levels of college football ended the season with a perfect record.

Florida State was crowned the champions of the FBS world with a perfect 14-0 record, including victories in the ACC Championship Game and BCS Championship Game. North Dakota State won the FCS national title with a record of 15-0. At the Division 2 level it was Northwest Missouri State running the table with a 15-0 record and Division 3 powerhouse Wisconsin-Whitewater defeated their top rival in D3, Mount Union, to claim the D3 national championship with a record of 15-0. Four NCAA champions, all with perfect records, combined for a record of 59-0.

Not to be forgotten, of course, is the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics champion. The NAIA operates separate of the NCAA and offers membership to many smaller universities across the country. This year's champion was Grand View University, located in Des Moines, Iowa. The Vikings managed to play through a 14-0 season to pick up the first national championship in the brief six-year history of the program.

As noted by Bring On The Cats, the closest we have come to seeing all five national champions put together a perfect season was in 1994. That season saw Nebraska recognized as the 1-A national champion with a 13-0 record (Penn State was 12-0, but no split national title is officially recognized). Youngstown State, coached by Jim Tressel, knocked off Boise State in the 1-AA championship game to finish with a record of 14-0-1. One of those wins came against the eventual D2 national champion, North Alabama. North Alabama finished the year with just the one loss, which prevented the 1994 season from having undefeated champions at each level of play at the NCAA level. The NAIA was split at the time, but neither national champion (Northeastern State in NAIA Division I and Westminster at NAIA Division II) finished with an undefeated record.

Helmet sticker to Bring on the Cats.

Kevin McGuire is the managing editor of Crystal Ball Run and contributor to College Football Talk. Follow McGuire on Twitter, Facebook and Google+.

Report this ad