Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Arts & Entertainment
  3. Music

Underrated Indie artists/bands (A sampler list)

See also

Indie music

Rating:
Star5
Star
Star
Star
Star

Over the past year or so, I've written about many indie music artists/bands, but of course, it's never enough. After sifting through thousands of artists, only a small percentage ever gets written about. It's become a bit of a double edged sword, as essentially the more I write, the more music is sent to me. Don't get me wrong, with a larger profile, come more expectations, which can be a big challenge.

Nowadays, I'm sent a lot of stuff from indie labels, websites, publicity reps, friends, and indie artists themselves. It's a bit overwhelming because in the beginning, I would find indie artists to write about, from magazines, newspapers, and searching online for anything that tickled my ears.

So basically, for every artist/band I write about, there are at least 10 that I don't write about because lack of time (a solo writer can only do so much). In many ways, that why larger music websites can cover more "of the beat" since they have more writers writing. So, I'm not really concerned about keeping up with the other websites, but remaining true to myself, and writing about who I like and want, to write about.

So I've compiled a list of many indie artists that I think are worth listening to (from the last few months), that I haven't had a chance, to sit down and write about yet. Check them out and listen to their music from the links below. Enjoy!

P.S. The artists are from a mix of genres, and basically struck a chord me that made me want to listen to their music, over and over again. ~Jason

Recommended Indie Music Artists/Bands

Jack Miz http://www.myspace.com/jackmizmusic

Modern Superstitions http://www.myspace.com/modernsuperstitions

Booka Shade http://www.myspace.com/bookashade

Sylvia Bennett http://www.myspace.com/sylviabennett

Boxer The Horse http://www.myspace.com/boxerthehorse

Clara Engel http://www.myspace.com/claraengel

Downlink http://www.myspace.com/downlinkdub

Sweet Thing http://www.myspace.com/sweetthingmusic

Meligrove Band http://www.myspace.com/meligroveband

Jennifer LFO http://www.myspace.com/jennfoster

Megan Bonnell http://www.myspace.com/meganbonnell

Whale Tooth http://www.myspace.com/whaletooth

The Schomberg Fair http://www.myspace.com/theschombergfair

Leif Vollebekk http://www.myspace.com/leifvollebekk

Empire ISIS http://www.myspace.com/empireisis

First Rate People http://www.myspace.com/firstratepeople

Leah West http://www.myspace.com/leahwest

ACOUSTIC GUITAR - singer/songwriter
Dave Borins - http://www.myspace.com/daveborins
Abigail Lapell - http://www.myspace.com/abigaillapell
Kathryn Rose - http://www.myspace.com/kathrynrosemusic
Dawn Lawnstroth - http://www.myspace.com/dawnlangstrothmusic
Emilie Mover - http://www.myspace.com/emiliemover
Matthew Barber - http://www.myspace.com/mbarber
Alright Alright - http://www.myspace.com/alrightalrightband
Andrew Vincent - http://www.myspace.com/andrewvincentsongs

Jadea Kelly - http://www.myspace.com/jadeak
The Balconies - http://www.myspace.com/thebalconies
Vaness Allegacy - http://www.myspace.com/vanessalegassi

PIANO - singer/songwriter
Darrelle London - http://www.myspace.com/darrellelondon

JAZZ - standards/classical
Laila Biali - http://www.myspace.com/lailabiali
Larra Skye - http://www.myspace.com/larraskye
Sarena Paton - http://www.myspace.com/sarenapaton
Stephanie Braganza - http://www.myspace.com/stephaniebraganza

Comments

  • jackie 3 years ago

    clara engel is one of my favorite songwriters. her voice is unforgettable, goes right through you. and a shamanistic performer. don't miss her if she's playing in your town.

  • Profile picture of mezzo
    mezzo 3 years ago

    Catch Clara live when you can, or buy some of her music in high quality download for an intense and moving listening experience. She's one of a kind.

  • Dave Borins 3 years ago

    Jason, thanks for including my band in this list, keep up the good fight!

    db

  • Anonymous 2 years ago

    You guys missed the band Loon Choir.

  • Anonymous 2 years ago

    Check out patrickjosephmusic.com!! Awesome lyrics! Great tunes! Love him!

Advertisement

Today's top buzz...

  • Jack White
    Reddit users have fun photoshopping an angry Jack White at a Cubs game
    Music Buzz
  • Kliff Kingsbury
    Kliff Kingsbury reads a series of flattering tweets praising his good looks
    Video
    Today's Buzz
  • Jamaal Charles
    Kansas City Chiefs make Jamaal Charles the second highest paid running back in NFL
    NFL Buzz
  • Slash
    Slash and The Conspirators crush it at Hard Rock, AP Awards
    Camera
    20 Photos
  • Monks of Mellonwah
    Exclusive interview: Monks of Mellonwah talk music, touring and more
    Camera
    9 Photos
  • Nikki Bella
    How will fans react if the WWE decides to turn Nikki Bella into a heel?
    Camera
    5 Photos