Skip to main content

See also:

The saga continues in "Star Wars: The Clone Wars - The Complete Season Two"

Star Wars: The Clone Wars - The Complete Season Two


"Star Wars: The Clone Wars – The Complete Season Two"

Ahsoka Tano (Ashley Eckstein) is Anakin Skywalker's Jedi apprentice
Photo by Frazer Harrison/Getty Images

Like 2009's "Star Wars; The Clone Wars – The Complete Season One" set, this 2010 offering contains all 22 episodes of the series created by George Lucas, produced by Catherine Winder and supervised by Dave Filoni.

Each 22-minute episode is a story set during the Clone Wars (22-19 years before the events of "Star Wars Episode IV: A New Hope"), although often two or three chapters are thematically linked to form story arcs.

For example, the Duros bounty hunter known as Cad Bane, introduced in Season One’s Hostage Crisis, is back in a three-episode arc involving a break-in at the Jedi Temple on Coruscant, stolen Jedi artifacts and the fate of Force-sensitive children across the galaxy.

Another arc focuses on Obi-Wan Kenobi and Duchess Satine, the pacifist ruler of Mandalore – home world of the infamous bounty hunter Jango Fett and a formerly warlike society. Obi-Wan and Satine have a history of sorts dating from when he was Qui-Gon Jinn’s Padawan learner, much to the amusement of Anakin Skywalker.

In the Mandalorian stories, Obi-Wan and Satine find themselves in the crosshairs of Death Watch, a terrorist organization which resents the duchess’ pacifist views and longs to a return to their society’s warrior ways. Sponsored by Count Dooku’s Separatists, Death Watch is yet another element of Darth Sidious’ campaign to undermine the Republic.

Other multi-episode stories include several involving Geonosis and some very creepy parasites from that infamous planet, an homage to Toho Studios’ Godzilla flicks that deals with the monstrous Zillo beast and the return of Boba Fett, who is still only a kid but on his way to becoming the galaxy’s premier bounty hunter. In R2 Come Home and Lethal Trackdown, young Boba has joined forces Aurra Sing and other baddies on a revenge-laden hunt for Jedi Master Mace Windu, the man who killed his father on Geonosis.

My Take:

As a "Star Wars fan"of the 1977 Generation, I have to admit that I was very apprehensive about Lucasfilm Ltd.’s plans for the computer-animated TV series "Star Wars: The Clone Wars."

Sure, I had enjoyed the 2-D "Star Wars: Clone Wars" series that aired between 2003 and 2005 on Time-Warner’s Cartoon Network cable channel. For old-school "Star Wars" fans, the Clone Wars loomed large in the mythology of that “galaxy far, far away” because the exploits of Obi-Wan Kenobi, Bail Organa and a certain Jedi Knight named Anakin Skywalker were mentioned only in passing yet seemed to have been a turning point in the history of the Old Republic and the Jedi Order.

When Lucas finally got around to make the Prequel Trilogy, he showed us how the Clone Wars began in Star Wars Episode II: Attack of the Clones." Lucas also depicted how the wars' end marked the fall of the Republic and the rise of the Empire in "Star Wars Episode III: Revenge of the Sith" However, in the chronology of the saga there was still a three-year gap that could be filled by Lucasfilm’s multimedia project bearing the name “The Clone Wars.”

Now, I figured that the 2003-2005 micro-series, the novels, comics and video games had filled in the gap fairly well, so when Lucasfilm launched the present series on Cartoon Network, I worried that it would be a watered down version of "Star Wars."

However, now that the series' Cartoon Network five-season run is over, I have to say that Lucas’s second television anthology (the first one was "The Young Indiana Jones Chronicles") is actually a worthy part of the popular "Star Wars" franchise.

Like many fans, I sometimes wish the producers of "Star Wars: The Clone Wars" had chosen a more linear approach rather than in the anthology format. However, once viewers get used to it they can tell that big arcs often are chronological within the context of the whole saga and that one-shot stories (such as the Ahsoka Tano-centered Lightsaber Lost) are little sideway jaunts that take viewers away from the Anakin/Obi-Wan narrative and allow them to learn about other Jedi, including Luminara Unduli, Barriss Offee and Eeth Koth.

Content Advisory: Though the series originally aired on Cartoon Network, it is rated TV-PG for good reason. Unlike most animated TV shows where characters can go through battles and other nasty situations virtually unharmed, "Star Wars: The Clone Wars" feature episodes in which clone troopers and even Jedi Knights are injured or even die.

In Season Two, some of the stories are dark and scary. In Children of the Force, Darth Sidious orders the kidnapping of very young children so that he can turn him into Sith spies. In a four-episode arc set on Geonosis, there is some creepy "Star Wars:"-flavored horror that will appeal to zombie movie and "Alien" fans..Parents may want to watch these episodes before allowing younger kids to do so.

Animation: For first-time viewers, the "Thunderbirds'-inspired animation takes some getting used to. It's rendered in three-dimensional computer style and done in a slightly exaggerated style reminiscent of both the 2003-2005 "Clone Wars" 2-D series and classic Japanese anime.

Episode List

Season 2, Episode 1: Holocron Heist
Original Air Date—2 October 2009
Season 2, Episode 2: Cargo of Doom
Season 2, Episode 3: Children of the Force
Original Air Date—9 October 2009
Season 2, Episode 4: Senate Spy
Original Air Date—17 October 2009
Season 2, Episode 5: Landing at Point Rain
Original Air Date—4 November 2009
Season 2, Episode 6: Weapons Factory
Original Air Date—13 November 2009
Season 2, Episode 7: Legacy of Terror
Original Air Date—20 November 2009
Season 2, Episode 8: Brain Invaders
Original Air Date—4 December 2009
Season 2, Episode 9: Grievous Intrigue
Original Air Date—1 January 2010
Season 2, Episode 10: The Deserter
Original Air Date—1 January 2010
Season 2, Episode 11: Lightsaber Lost
Original Air Date—22 January 2010
Season 2, Episode 12: The Mandalore Plot
Original Air Date—29 January 2010
Season 2, Episode 13: Voyage of Temptation
Original Air Date—5 February 2010
Season 2, Episode 14: Duchess of Mandalore
Original Air Date—12 February 2010
Season 2, Episode 15: Senate Murders
Original Air Date—5 March 2010
Season 2, Episode 16: Cat and Mouse
Original Air Date—19 March 2010
Season 2, Episode 17: Bounty Hunters
Original Air Date—26 March 2010
Season 2, Episode 18: The Zillo Beast
Original Air Date—3 April 2010
Season 2, Episode 19: The Zillo Beast Strikes Back
Original Air Date—10 April 2010
Season 2, Episode 20: Death Trap
Original Air Date—17 April 2010
Season 2, Episode 21: R2 Come Home
Original Air Date—24 April 2010
Season 2, Episode 22: Lethal Trackdown
Original Air Date—30 April 2010

The "Star Wars: The Clone Wars - The Complete Season Two" sets: As with the 2009 Complete Season One sets, Warner Home Video has released Season Two in DVD and Blu-ray. The DVD set contains the 22 episodes and four behind-the-scenes featurettes in four discs. The Blu-ray set has contains the episodes, the featurettes, and the Blu-ray-only Jedi Temple Archives extras in three discs.

"Star Wars: The Clone Wars - The Complete Season Two" sets come in a Digipack case with a booklet of selected production sketches featuring characters or vehicles from specific shows, as well as an episode guide.