Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Arts & Entertainment
  3. Music

The Jacksons break out-- and up

See also

Record album by The Jacksons: Victory (1984)


Here’s why this album should be in your collection!

Victory (1984) by The Jacksons was exactly that-- but bittersweet.

The album featured all six Jackson brothers, and showcased five of them as songwriters. Jermaine probably didn’t mind; he didn’t write “Do What You Do” (from his solo album Dynamite), but the single soared on the charts in 1984 along with hits from Victory.

Michael’s “State of Shock,” featuring Mick Jagger, was the biggest hit. But Jackie’s “Torture,” and Marlon’s “Body” also reached high on R&B and Pop charts. Randy’s “One More Chance” was so endearing that sister Janet covered it several years later. Jackie’s “Wait” and Tito’s “We Can Change The World” became underrated gems.

The Victory album and concert tour were commercial blockbusters. But the album never received the creative credit it deserved; Thriller had cast a massive shadow. Michael left the group after the tour ended. But not even he had anticipated Janet’s success. For the music industry, two pop superstars in the same family were enough. After 2300 Jackson Street in 1989, the Jacksons disbanded.

This album is available in CD and MP3 format from major vendors. Please consider purchasing it from a local independent record store.

Here’s an interesting fact!

Every member of the Jackson family had a chart hit in 1984. Janet had “Don’t Stand Another Chance,” LaToya had “Heart Don’t Lie,” and Rebbie had “Centipede.” Kennedy Gordy (Rockwell) also had a hit, with a song written by his former brother-in-law (Michael): “Somebody’s Watching Me.”


Today's top buzz...

  • Weird Al
    'Weird Al' Yankovic gains his first number one album with 'Mandatory Fun'
    Music Buzz
  • LeBron James
    Frank Caliendo channels Morgan Freeman when reading LeBron James' letter
    NBA Buzz
  • NFL jerseys
    New York Giants and Jets fail to breach NFL's top 25 in jersey sales
    NFL Buzz
  • Slash
    Slash and The Conspirators crush it at Hard Rock, AP Awards
    20 Photos
  • Monks of Mellonwah
    Exclusive interview: Monks of Mellonwah talk music, touring and more
    9 Photos
  • Bad Company
    Bad Company and Lynyrd Skynyrd deliver a double dose of hits at the Blossom Music Center
    20 Photos