Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

The Goo Goo Dolls, Daughtry and, The Plain White T's at the Greek: Review

Goo Goo Dolls Concert


The Goo Goo Dolls returned to the Greek Theatre for their first show there since August, 2011. On tour with the Goo Goo Dolls this summer is Plain White T’s and Daughtry. The Plain White T’s took the stage first at 6:30 and played around a 25 minute set. This seems like an early time to start a show, but considering there were 3 bands and a 10:30 curfew, it made perfect sense. The Plain White T’s stood at the end of the stage with all members, rather than putting the drums in the back. Since forming in 1997, The Plain White T’s have released 7 studio albums, one which came out this year “American Nights.” Their set included “American Nights,” “Giving Tree,” “1234,” “Should’ve Gone To Bed,” “Hey There Delilah,” and “Rhythm Of Love.” Lead singer Tom Higgenson thanked the audience for showing up early to see them which was a bit funny since their a major band not an opener that the audience wouldn’t be familiar with. The Plain White T’s had the audience on their feet dancing and grooving along. Following Plain White T’s was 20 intermission then Daughtry. Daughtry played for around an hour and 20 minutes. Daughtry’s most recent co-headline tour was with 3 Doors Down in 2012. Although Daughtry wasn’t a winner on American Idol, he has enjoyed much more success than contestants that have won as a finalist. Daughtry always has a great band, and connects with the audience. During his set he paid tribute to those serving in the army. Since 2006, Daughtry has released 4 albums, most recently “Baptized” which came out last year. Daughtry opened his set with “Baptized” followed by “Feels Like Tonight.” Daughtry’s 2 song encore consisted of “Waiting For Superman,” and “Long live Rock N’ Roll.” After a 30 minute intermission The Goo Goo Dolls took the stage. Last time they played long their drummer of 19 years Mike Malnin who recently departed was with the band. Touring members Brad Fernquist (Guitar, Backing Vocals) and Korel Tunador (Sax, Keys, Guitar, Backing Vocals) have been with the group since 2006. The newest member is drummer Craig Mcintyre. They opened their set with “Lazy Eye,” followed by “Big Machine,” and one of their biggest hits “Slide.” It’s hard to believe that The Goo Goo Dolls will celebrate 30 years in 2016 as there songs are as relevant today as they were when they came out. Although lead vocal duties are handled by Johnny Rezeznik, bassist Robby Takac sang a few songs. The Goo Goo Dolls always put on a great performance. On Iris the band led the audience in a sing a long between the guys and girls. The encore consisted of “Broadway, and “Sympathy.”

Johnny Rzeznik of the Goo Goo Dolls
Alex Kluft
Johnny Rzeznik
Alex Kluft

Goo Goo Dolls Setlist
1. Lazy Eye
2. Big Machine
3. Slide
4. Dizzy
5. Rebel Beat
6. When The World Breaks Your Heart
7. Smash
8. January Friend
9. Come To Me
10. Black Baloon
11. Stay With You
12. Here Is Gone
13. Caught In The Storm
14. Feel The Silence
15. Name
16. Already There
17. Bringing The Light
18. Better Days
19. Slow It Down
20. Let Love In
21. Iris
22. Sympathy
23. Broadway

Report this ad