Skip to main content
  1. Life
  2. Religion & Spirituality
  3. Western Religions

TALK 2 ME: NFL SINGS THE HOUSE DOWN AT BRIDGEPORT MCDONALD'S!

See also

NFL GOSPEL CHOIR SINGING AT GRAND OPENING OF THE MCDONALD'S IN BRIDGEPORT, CT OWNER & OPERATOR CHRIS TREFZ

Rating:
Star5
Star
Star
Star
Star

Written by Min. Che’ri Humphrey, M.ED; January 29, 2014

More Photos

Founder & President of Diamonds In The Rough (DITR)…Finding The Spirit In Me!

Note: This article is sent out in an automatic email blast to those on its original list through this site. Please email me if you like to be added or removed. T2M Column reaches approximately 5,000+ in total since January 2011.

Call for your write up and personal review, ad, or article (info listed at bottom of the article). We celebrate 3 years writing for the Examiner, and 9 years since the "Talk 2 Me" column began with CCN, Harlem Mg. as a freelance writer. God is able and most FANTABULOUS honey!

NFL SINGS THE HOUSE DOWN AT BRIDGEPORT MCDONALD'S!

Today was a dynamically fantabulous experience witness the NFL Gospel Choir minister in song and give words of wisdom and encouragement to adolescent aspiring football players. I must admit the McDonald's Gospelfest team from Irving Street who were present were dressed to kill. Master Choir Director of the McDonald's Gospel Choir I'm a member of and Executive Producer of the McDonald's Gospelfest, Matthew Kirkwood was looking very impressive in his gray pinned stripped suit along with others from the team such as, Brian and Hassan who were also sharp.

Before the huge crowd piled in to the grand opening of the McDonald's at 1700 Park Ave in Bridgeport, I had the pleasure of talking to some of the players, meeting owner and operator Chris Trefz once again, and getting some footage. Thank you Mr. Trefz because the breakfast that was on you sure hit the spot lol. I don't follow sports and wouldn't have known if I was meeting an NFL player or not, but I was able to distinguish them from the guests due to the t-shirts they wore. They looked astonishing, and all were so open and friendly. The air was filled with chatter, laughter, joking, and some of the players singing to warm themselves up.

Some others who were present was Mayor, Bill Finch, his wife, mother, brother, and his sons. Also, other prominent and influential people in the community of Bridgeport. Singers from the group, "Covenant..." were in the house, Myron Butler gospel recording artist who directed the choir; and a reverend from the area came to open in prayer and bless the restaurant and those in it, in addition to its owner.

Among a few of the NFL players that stood out was Elroy with his handsome self, and Mr. Henry Lawrence of Sarasota, FL; singer, actor, and speaker who'll soon be running for Congress in his town. He resembled "Howling Wolf" from the movie, "Cadillac." He also had a sultry, strong, deep sound when he got of the mic to sing his portion of the gospel selection the NFL choir was singing after I opened up with spoken WORD, and the Covenant choir opened with a selection.

It's hard to be objective covering this piece because the Irving Street team have become family to me since I've been participating as a poet finalist from the year, 2003. Moreover, been singing with them since Dec 2007 on the gospel choir, and reporting for DITR's Talk 2 Me Media/freelance coverage since 2009. Others who I knew that came out to support was my Co-Pastor of True Vine of Holiness was Evangelist Helen Littleberry which took me by surprise. Also, my good friend, gospel recording artist Sheila McCoy of N-His Image came by for a while to support.

There was so much excitement in the room once the high school football players showed, patrons that came and packed the place out, the Irving Street team, the Mayor Finch and his family, artists, and more showed to support the grand opening of the McDonald's; I had no time to get names and record them, get footage, pray, and get in my zone all at the same time so that I'd be able to minister the piece "Green Eyes," effectively (Green Eyes is located on a previous article if you'd like to read the words). Thank the Lord that He saw me through in the midst of all the talking that was going on. Someone from the CT Post said to me after I did my selection, "Hey why don't you put more energy into it why don't you!" He said jokingly with others from the Channel 12 News as if to say, Che'ri you couldn't have given the piece more energy and umph than I already had. I'm glad God enabled me to do it well despite the loudness in the room, and to be able to focus. We all just laughed, and I was pleased to have a couple of players hug me and receive the Word I spoke after I got out of the spotlight to bring forth the words God had given me to say.

The event ended outside with the ribbon cutting; a ribbon that had money pinned all across it to commemorate it's grand opening. Mr. Elroy, Mayor Bill Finch and his family, Henry Lawrence, owners and operators, and the Irving Street team all held the ribbon as it was being cut by Mr. Lawrence.

Although I've been dealing with a financial crisis and situations that look gloomy, the Lord allowed me to shine through the darkness I've been dealing with in my life at this time; still a blessing and a glimpse of sunshine in the storm. So, it was a blessed experience, and I was truly honored by being given the chance to be the only spoken Word artist from CT to represent this occasion. Thank you Jesus for your Word is true, "...your gifts will make room for you and bring you before great men." God is able.

Events Coming:

1/31/14- McDonald's Super Choir at the Newark Symphony Hall; breaking a world record!

2/1/14- From Bondage to Freedom at True Vine of Holiness at 6pm facilitated by Elder Gantt. I'll be doing "No Trespassing" spoken word selection for this.

2/10/14-next radio broadcast for DITR's T2M Radio with a Valentine's Special @6:30-7pm on www.blogtalkradio.com/talk2cheri Call for your interview starting at $35-50 for the radio, and $50 to $200 for column write ups.

2/12/14- McDonald's Gospel Choir opening with the National Anthem at the Nets Game at the Brooklyn Arena. (Tickets sold out).

2/20/14-Diamonds in the Rough...is extending women bible groups as a continuation of our Running Into the Light! Women Survivor of Abuse Workshops at 6:30pm-7:30 open to anyone struggling with issues in the area of any type of abuse.

March-April-DITR's audition for (ASIB) A Star is Born 6: The Fix coming for youth ages 8-19 years old still in school. Current champions: Brett Joshua Gantt STAR DIAMOND WINNER, and Alecia Green our reigning DIAMOND TWINKLE CHAMPION. Registration $25 per child.

5/10/14-the McDonald's Gospelfest at the Prudential in Newark, NJ (get your tickets now). DITR T2M MEDIA is looking for 3 people to join the team as volunteers for media coverage with Min. Che'ri call 203.952.9807 or write to cherihumphrey@gmail.com

TO BOOK MIN CHE'RI WRITE ME OR CALL....

"TESTIMONY (Redemption)"

HEY…GONNA-GONNA TO GET IT BACK

REDEMPTION!

I’M MAD!

Theeeere’s testimonies shut up in my bones

I moan and groan over the many days I spent in court

Mad at the devil, now I laugh ‘cause what he tried didn’t work

Conception through belief and faith in His Word

Protecting spiritual pregnancies I refuse to let abort

My soul is RELIEVED and REDEEMED by His blood and grace

NO, I don’t know karate, but I know crazy faith!

Crazy faith got me through so many times when I had fallen short

I don’t have to take revenge ‘cuz vengeance is MINE saith the Lord

I’m a SURVIVOR through His love and faith-can ya’ll relate?

The enemy has been on my case since March 28th at the BIRTH of this race

See I didn’t fight the war over seas, but I fought in the battle within my family,

Next the streets to church indecencies then uprooting the enemy inside me

So when you look at me remember this word-REDEMPTION!

‘cuz my very presence is a victory untold

Refining in the fire yet to come out as pure gold

Defeating every type of abuse on the totem pole

All in the name of salvation and speaking life into someone else’s soul

Jesus is gonna give back what the devil stole and mo’

So, stop playing games and act like you know

Like I said, “I GOT TESTIMONIES SHUT UP IN MY BONES!”

Written by Che'ri Humphrey of DITR...

Copyrights©2007 (2/18/07; revised 2/19/07)

This piece was done on Our Lives Talk Show, WVOF 88.5fm, WNHU, People of Excellence, What’s Good Show, Make it Happen Show, Keeping it Real Show, Talk 2 Me Radio, and other radio shows such as WDJZ, etc.

Creativity

Husssshhhh, Hold your peace and be still

I’ma slip you some words that are holy ghost spirit filled

Little Richard neva took God’s place

God IS the Originator & Creator- that’s not up for foolish debate

Cuz in the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God

A word fitly spoken is like apples of gold in pictures of silver

So start cleanin’ up the words that you say- cuz the wrong words can killa ya

Listen, he spoke creation into existence and for this I am here

Made in His image and likeness, creativity resides here

LOOOOK--- no more labels attached to me

Not bound by your impressions of what you said I should be

I’m like the woman with the issue of blood so STEP ASIDE!

I might accidentality “drip- drop” some of this fresh, anointed wine, if you don’t mind!

Greater is He that is in me than he that is in the world

Don’t try to bottle me up cuz’ this flask might burst

He can give us peace that passes all understanding

Hold up--STOP! Am I too demanding?

You’re so supposed to have faith and believe

All things are possible in Christ Jesus

So when the enemy tells you, you used to, you can’t, you aren't, and you won’t be

Remind him that he has no right or authority over your destiny, so FLEE !

Instead he’ll be used as footstool to reach your dreams

Laugh, and smile in the face of adversity!

See, we don’t need man’s titles because we’re born with diverse, unique, complexity

Rip off those phony labels since they really don’t mean a thing

Please no blockin’ passage ways or stickin’ your labels on Creativity

Cuz I am her and she is me

It ‘s not what YOU say, but who GOD created me to be.

Written by Che'ri Humphrey, Fndr/Pres of Diamonds in the Rough...Finding the Spirit in Me! Copyrights ©2008 (2/1/08)

Revised 2/6/08

This piece won 1st place at the McDonald's Gospelfest 2008 at the Prudential in NJ.

SCRIPTURE REFERENCES:

To accept Christ as your personal savior speak aloud & mean it in your heart: Romans 10:9-11

Postal address:

Min. Che'ri Humphrey, DITR, PO Box 13, Norwalk, CT 06852

WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL HELP WITH DITR.. HELP US TO HELP OTHERS BY MAKING A CONTRIBUTION. To send monetary contributions or donations use Paypal at clhumphrey@rocketmail.com under Cheri Humphrey, or mail via postal. To send feedback for this column; write to: cherihumphrey@gmail.com For every vision, ministry, or business requires finances to make it happen and see things come into fruition with God’s power, of course.

For Minister Che’ri Humphrey’s services/products, or consultation

in the following areas, call 203.952.9807 to book or contract DITR out. Fees do apply:

1. Consultant/Life Ministry Coach for survivors of abuse (RIL to begin 2/20/14)

2. Producer/Event planner & Organizer/Emcee or Mistress of Ceremony

3. Artist Developer of “Kinky (hair) Creations Entertainment”

4. Fine-Artist (oils, pastels, charcoal, pencil, spray paint, acrylics)

5. Poet/Spoken WORD Minister

6. Preaching and/or speaker, educator

7. Actress and Theatre Play Director

8. Writer (columnist, reporter, musical lyrics, poetry, novels, screen and theatre)

9. Singer (a member of the McDonald’s Gospel Choir since 2007)

10. Instructor to teach DITR curriculum 6-12 weeks call the above number.

“TALK 2 ME!” RADIO BROADCAST- THE FASTEST GROWING ONLINE STATION IN CT REACHING US AND ABROAD with almost 8K+ LISTENERS since APRIL 23, 2010. Celebrating 4 years coming! Please contact same number or if you’d business/personal write up on you or your business. Fees do apply for all services through this organization, and vary based on individual or company for radio interviews, or articles written; starting at $35-200 for radio interviews, & more for personal and business articles.

T2M Radio will soon be streaming live on 3 other broadcasts stations in separate states.

DITR's TALK 2 ME MEDIA sites:

Purchase my 5 NEW E-Books published since Nov. Purchase for your kindle device. http://www.amazon.com/author/cherihumphrey

Also, see other K.C. Entertainment authors, look up on amazon, such as June West www.amazon.com/author/junewest

http://www.youtube.com/Cheri328 to view DITR clips, commercials/spoken Word ministry; FOOTAGE FROM THE MCDONALD’S GOSPELFEST 2013.

http://www.talk2cheri.blogspot.com product orders DVDS ’09-‘11

http://www.blogtalkradio.com/talk2cheri

(Monday’s at 6:30-7pm, 2-3x per month NEXT BROADCAST ON 2/10/14 WITH ST JON OF STATEN ISLAND AND ANOTHER SURPRISE RECORDING ARTIST)

http://16weeks.ning.com/profile/runningintothelight

http://www.twitter.com/talk2cheri (private) & @T2M328

http://www.examiner.com/christianity-in-hartford/che-ri-humphrey (this page) CELEBRATING OUR 3RD YEAR OF WRITING THIS COLUMN.

Facebook pages:

(personal) Cheri L Humphrey-Producer www.facebook.com/producercheri2

(business & the arts) at Che’riHumphrey Diamondsintherough Findingthespiritinme or www.facebook.com/cherihum

If you're not a part of the solution then you're a part of the problem. Thank you!

Advertisement

Life

  • Randy Travis
    Randy Travis returns with 'Influence Vol. 2: The Man I Am' in August
    Today's Buzz
  • Alternative medicine
    Alternative medicine: Remedies to make the bugs in your body go away for good
    Camera
    7 Photos
  • Beach body
    Fitness: Earn your beach body badge with bootcamp classes
    Camera
    10 Photos
  • Back to school
    These 10 items are sure winners on your back-to-school shopping trip
    Camera
    12 Photos
  • Izabel Goulart
    Izabel Goulart walks the runway with Studio F at Colombia Moda
    Camera
    19 Photos
  • Ombre' technique
    Go for the gusto: What ombre' technique are you?
    Camera
    5 Photos

Related Videos:

  • Any afternoon will do
    <div class="video-info" data-id="518014543" data-param-name="playList" data-provider="5min" data-url="http://pshared.5min.com/Scripts/PlayerSeed.js?sid=1304&width=480&height=401&playList=518014543&autoStart=true"></div>
  • Verne & Florence Stemmons
    <div class="video-info" data-id="518189083" data-param-name="playList" data-provider="5min" data-url="http://pshared.5min.com/Scripts/PlayerSeed.js?sid=1304&width=480&height=401&playList=518189083&autoStart=true"></div>
  • Review of the movie 'Persecuted'
    <iframe width="600" height="337" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/z4FslottUKo?rel=0?rel=0&amp;VQ=HD720&amp;allowfullscreen=true&amp;autoplay=1"></iframe>