Skip to main content
  1. Life
  2. Religion & Spirituality
  3. Western Religions

TALK 2 ME: 2014 MCDONALD'S GOSPELFEST WOMEN WHO WORSHIP!

See also

The McDonald's Gospelfest: Women Who Worship 2014

Rating:
Star5
Star
Star
Star
Star

Written by Min. Che’ri Humphrey, M.ED; May 27, 2014

More Photos

Founder & President of Diamonds In The Rough (DITR)…Finding The Spirit In Me!

Note: This article is sent out in an automatic email blast to those on its original list through this site. Please email me if you like to be added or removed. T2M Column reaches approximately 5,500+ in total since January 2011. Call for your write up and personal review, ad, or article (info listed at bottom of the article). We celebrate 3 years writing for the Examiner in April, and 9 years since the "Talk 2 Me" column began with CCN, Harlem Mg. as a freelance writer. God is able and most FANTABULOUS honey!

T2M MEDIA WAS LOVIN IT!

What a fantabulous time it was on Saturday, May 10th 2014. The McDonald’s Gospelfest (M.G. we’ll use for short), produced by A. Curtis Farrow really out did himself by having such a great line up of women legends in gospel. Let’s not forget Pastor Hezekiah Walker as well. The Women Who Worship included new hit gospel artists also, such as, Tasha Cobbs. Others included: The Clarke Sisters, Cissy Houston, Erica Campbell of Mary Mary, Kim Burrell, Tremaine Hawkins who led the choir I’m a member of; the McDonald’s Gospel Choir; Pastor Shirley Caesar who also led my choir for a selection; Dottie Peoples, Vickie Winans, Dorothy Norwood, Melba Moore, and Yolanda Adams.

Seeing Pastor Caesar again so many times since I first met her at the Palace in Stamford singing for the Stamford Mass Choir to interviewing her almost every year in the past 3 years have been a true gift. I had previously interviewed Melba Moore on Talk 2 Me Radio (www.blogtalkradio.com/talk2cheri) back in March. So seeing in person to speak to talk face to face was really exceptional. She took my hand as I was talking to her briefly about last year and my mother once she got off stage, and we walked each other out into the media area for her interview. I never forget when I was in her dressing room talking to her in 2003 because I was leaving her my first published poetry book, and because she thought I was too skinny offered me some of her food. Well, Pastor Caesar that problem no longer exists- LOL. (See footage of her on youtube.com/Cheri328 from the M.G. 2years ago at the hotel).

Tasha Cobbs has been extremely hot in the gospel industry right now with the smash hit song, “Break Every Chain.” She wore a royal blue pants suit with a white blouse. Immediately, upon coming on the stage she took control as in to usher in the spiritual and engage her audience (see video clip).

The Clarke Sisters appeared a bit fatigued before entering the stage, but MY GOD, MY GOD once they opened their mouths, and Karen began to sing lead it was over! They didn’t do a lot of antics-just kept it simply melodic, sultry, and heartfelt. God did the rest. Their praise and worship wasn’t rehearsed, nor did it seem phony, or like they had to force out a shout. The Lord has His way so much so they couldn’t stop worshipping, praising, shouting in dance and were stuck at the top of the steps next to Mr. Farrow giving glory to God. That’s what I’m talking about.

I was able to get a pic with my all time gospel artist, Karen thanks to Brian (Irving Street). Their manager didn’t seem friendly at all holding people back from hearing them as they were being interviewed and pushing people away from them. This wasn’t Hollywood. In fact, she was very cold with a bad attitude. They’re the Clarke Sisters of course people will try to crowd around and gets pics-we’re media. That’s what media does. I hope she knows it comes with the territory. I’m so glad that Karen, Dorinda, and the other sisters were as nice as I expected. It was a dream come true, once again.

Erica Campbell (my sister’s cousin & and an old friend’s relatives from Union Baptist Church) was truly beautiful. Her white fitted, body pants set, with black belt for accent was totally hot. Her hair and makeup was tight. She did represent well. I enjoyed her interview.

Yolanda Adams took the cake when it comes to healthy Black women in gospel. She was so in shape the leopard skinned dress she wore was pleased to used by her in that tall animal skin dress that fit her just right. She was gorgeous as well as anointed as she stood on stage like a tall African Goddess.

I was standing in line with the McDonald’s Gospel Choir waiting to go on when Kim Burrell was singing, but her voice is so recognizable, especially after she worked with “Sunday’s Best” you just knew she was singing. I love her jazzy, soulful sound of gospel.

Mr. Farrow was in a fancy mood; changing from his black suit while contestants were out to his all white suit when the celebrities started the second half of the show. I love all white, and he was wearing it well. My Talk 2 Me volunteer trainee messed our pic up (next time), but I did get Mr. Farrow on stage standing tall and stature. What an awesome and wonderful job he did, and all the announcers like Liz Black, Toya Beasley, and the first lady’s from several NJ churches came out and represented so they can be honored. It was joyous thing to see so many women, let alone first ladies who’ve made such an impact in their communities. The one who stood out for me was the first lady with her doctorate whom Mr. Farrow now attends her church. That’s a baaaaaddd woman in the Lord!

I couldn’t help but laugh when Melba Moore ended her performance. She wore a sequence gold dress with an oversized yellow, feathery sash to brace around her neck. It reminded me of something Diana Ross may have worn in the 80’s. I was taken back and a little baffled at the comment she ended with as she pranced off the stage after singing the “gospel” version of “Lean on Me.” Mrs. Moore stormed away after she said, “…as YOU PEOPLE SAY-HALLELUUU!” I didn’t quite get it, but I laughed just the same with the other singers on the side of the stage and a couple of the security guards. She was such a sweetie pie when I approached her off stage and got some footage of her. She did a fire-filled broad way performance of the rendition, “Lean on Me.”

I loved some Vickie Winans, and was hoping to talk with her again, but I had to wait with the choir for us to go on stage and sing in back of Tremaine Hawkins (see slide show video). However, I did get a chance to see her sing a little. I was directly under her in front of the stage as directed my volunteer trainee from WICC/WEBE of what do once I leave to sing. She got some great footage of my girl, Vickie. Vickie tore it up as usual and looked sensational in her two toned, pinned stripped black and silver sequence dress-fantabulous!

Tremaine Hawkins ushered in the spirit of the Lord, and so did our choir singing the song, “Change.” Lord, it was just filled with an anointing that I hadn’t witnessed in a while. Well, since last’s year’s fest when we had to sing. It was a true blessing, and so touching. Tremaine handled her business and was about her Father’s business. She meant every word she sang, and so did I because I KNOW HE CHANGED ME!

I must say congratulations to Isaac Z. who was finalist for the 8th year, and winner for the youth dance competition. He’ll be dancing again for Diamonds in the Rough on June 28th. In addition to Marcia of Morristown, New Jersey who won for her category as a female soloist. These youth contestants were mind blowing this year; especially the old time singing youth, male group who caught Tasha Cobbs attention as she asked them to sing for her backstage. They seemed a little scared. I said, “Look, ya’l better sang! Do you realize who asking you to sing? Sang!” At that point I wished I was their manager because I know that hesitance would’ve never happened.

Some contestants who blew me away were: LJPC, The Sisters, Brielle of F.T. Comedy, once again Kobie B., Marcia S., K’lynn who’s 9 years old. (See video slide show clip for video of K’lynn). Go to www.blogtalkradio.com/talk2cheri to hear Marcia sing and her interview with Talk 2 Me Radio. The Sisters will be on in July.

Events Coming:

3/26/14 (just past)- Award Winning, 90’s Star Mrs. Cece Penistion known for “Finally,” “Walk On,” etc. @6:30-7pm on www.blogtalkradio.com/talk2cheri Call for your interview starting at $35-200 for the radio, and $50 to $200 for column write ups.

Thursdays (nxt 3 wks) RIL-Diamonds in the Rough...is extending women bible groups as a continuation of our Running Into the Light! Women Survivor of Abuse Workshops at 6:30pm-7:30 open to anyone struggling with issues in the area of any type of abuse. Bible groups resumed in May, on Thursdays, in Norwalk, CT. Min. Humphrey will be on sabbatical in the month of July.

Until May the 31st scheduling appointment with those who want private auditions for (ASIB) "A Star is Born 6: The Fix!" coming for youth ages 8-21 years. All areas of performing arts, bring CD music or instrument, parent to fill out registration and application if under 18, and bring your best game! CALL 203.952.9807 FOR MORE INFO.

DITR/MIN. HUMPHREY’s TAPING ON OUR LIVES WITH GWEN EDWARDS WILL AIR THIS WEEKEND, TIMES: 31ST 11:30am, 4:30pm, midnight, and on 1st the same.

5/28- ASIB 6 TICKET DEADLINE is this day for $25, otherwise $30, and $30 @ the door. Kids 5 & under FREE.

A STAR IS BORN 6----CALL FOR PRIVATE AUDITIONS AGES 8-21:

MUST BE WITH A PARENT IF UNDER 18 YRS OLD. APPLICATIONS, & REGISTRATION REQUIRED ON THE DAY OF YOUR AUDITION. BRING YOUR MUSIC CD OR INSTRUMENT.

REGISTRATION IS $25 PER CHILD, AND PER PERSON FOR GROUPS. MAX FOUR PPL IN GROUP. CLEAN MUSIC IF SINGING. NO SEXUAL OVERTONES OR VULGARITY. RAPPERS, SINGERS, GROUPS, DANCERS, SPOKEN WORD ARTISTS, INSTRUMENTALISTS ARE ALL WELCOMED!!!!

Current champions: Brett Joshua Gantt STAR DIAMOND WINNER, and Alecia Green our reigning DIAMOND TWINKLE CHAMPION. Registration is $25 per child.

Creativity

Husssshhhh, Hold your peace and be still

I’ma slip you some words that are holy ghost spirit filled

Little Richard neva took God’s place

God IS the Originator & Creator- that’s not up for foolish debate

Cuz in the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God

A word fitly spoken is like apples of gold in pictures of silver

So start cleanin’ up the words that you say- cuz the wrong words can killa ya

Listen, he spoke creation into existence and for this I am here

Made in His image and likeness, creativity resides here

LOOOOK--- no more labels attached to me

Not bound by your impressions of what you said I should be

I’m like the woman with the issue of blood so STEP ASIDE!

I might accidentality “drip- drop” some of this fresh, anointed wine, if you don’t mind!

Greater is He that is in me than he that is in the world

Don’t try to bottle me up cuz’ this flask might burst

He can give us peace that passes all understanding

Hold up--STOP! Am I too demanding?

You’re so supposed to have faith and believe

All things are possible in Christ Jesus

So when the enemy tells you, you used to, you can’t, you aren't, and you won’t be

Remind him that he has no right or authority over your destiny, so FLEE !

Instead he’ll be used as footstool to reach your dreams

Laugh, and smile in the face of adversity!

See, we don’t need man’s titles because we’re born with diverse, unique, complexity

Rip off those phony labels since they really don’t mean a thing

Please no blockin’ passage ways or stickin’ your labels on Creativity

Cuz I am her and she is me

It ‘s not what YOU say, but who GOD created me to be.

Written by Che'ri Humphrey, Fndr/Pres of Diamonds in the Rough...Finding the Spirit in Me!

Copyrights ©2008 (2/1/08) Revised 2/6/08

This piece won 1st place at the McDonald's Gospelfest 2008 at the Prudential in NJ

SCRIPTURE REFERENCES:

To accept Christ as your personal savior speak aloud & mean it in your heart: Romans 10:9-11

Postal address:

Min. Che'ri Humphrey, DITR, PO Box 13, Norwalk, CT 06852

To send monetary contributions or donations use PayPal at clhumphrey@rocketmail.com under Cheri Humphrey, or mail via postal. To send feedback for this column; write to: cherihumphrey@gmail.com For every vision, ministry, or business requires finances to make it happen and see things come into fruition with God’s power, of course.

For Minister Che’ri Humphrey’s services/products, or consultation

in the following areas, call 203.952.9807 to book or contract DITR out.

Fees do apply:

1. Consultant/Life Ministry Coach for survivors of abuse (RIL to begin 2/20/14)

2. Producer/Event planner & Organizer/Emcee or Mistress of Ceremony

3. Artist Developer of “Kinky (hair) Creations Entertainment”

4. Fine-Artist (oils, pastels, charcoal, pencil, spray paint, acrylics)

5. Poet/Spoken WORD Minister

6. Preaching and/or speaker, educator

7. Actress and Theatre Play Director

8. Writer (columnist, reporter, musical lyrics, poetry, novels, screen and theatre)

9. Singer (a member of the McDonald’s Gospel Choir since 2007)

10. Instructor to teach DITR curriculum 6-12 weeks call the above number.

“TALK 2 ME!” RADIO BROADCAST- THE FASTEST GROWING ONLINE STATION IN CT REACHING US AND ABROAD with almost 8,400 + LISTENERS since APRIL 23, 2010. Celebrating 4 years coming! Please contact same number or if you’d business/personal write up on you or your business. Fees do apply for all services through this organization, and vary based on individual or company for radio interviews, or articles written; starting at $35-200 for radio interviews, & more for personal and business articles. T2M Radio will soon be streaming live on 3 other broadcasts stations in separate states.

DITR's TALK 2 ME MEDIA sites:

New website---- www.ditrfindingthespiritinme.org or go to the City of Stamford’s Youth Services Web page and

find Diamonds in the Rough’s page.

Purchase my 5 NEW E-Books published since Nov. Purchase for your kindle device. http://www.amazon.com/author/cherihumphrey

Also, see other K.C. Entertainment authors, look up on amazon, such as June West www.amazon.com/author/junewest

http://www.youtube.com/Cheri328 to view DITR clips, commercials/spoken Word ministry; FOOTAGE FROM THE MCDONALD’S GOSPELFEST 2013.

http://www.talk2cheri.blogspot.com product orders DVDS ’09-‘11

http://www.blogtalkradio.com/talk2cheri

(Monday’s at 6:30-7pm, 2-3x per month NEXT BROADCASTS ON 5/19 WINNER OF THE MCDONALD’S

GOSPELFEST ’14, MARCIA SAPP-5/26 CECE PENISTON)

http://16weeks.ning.com/profile/runningintothelight

http://www.twitter.com/talk2cheri (private) & @T2M328

http://www.examiner.com/christianity-in-hartford/che-ri-humphrey (this page) CELEBRATING OUR 3RD YEAR OF WRITING THIS COLUMN.

Facebook pages:

(personal) Cheri L Humphrey-Producer www.facebook.com/producercheri2

(business & the arts) at Che’riHumphrey Diamondsintherough Findingthespiritinme or www.facebook.com/cherihum

If you're not a part of the solution then you're a part of the problem. Thank you!

Advertisement

Related Videos:

  • Pope Francis on gossip and the generation of rumors: 'This shouldn't be done. We shouldn't do it.'
    <iframe width="600" height="337" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/QFbnJI9KVOk?VQ=HD720&amp;allowfullscreen=true&amp;autoplay=1"></iframe>
  • Nude wedding
    <iframe width="560" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/3qX1aeJnRLw?rel=0?rel=0&amp;VQ=HD720&amp;allowfullscreen=true&amp;autoplay=1"></iframe>
  • The never-ending problem of evil
    <div class="video-info" data-id="518370655" data-param-name="playList" data-provider="5min" data-url="http://pshared.5min.com/Scripts/PlayerSeed.js?sid=1304&width=480&height=401&playList=518370655&autoStart=true"></div>