Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Arts & Entertainment
  3. Music

Swollen Members look ahead on 'Brand New Day'

See also

Brand New Day by Swollen Members


Canadian hip hop group Swollen Members (Madchild, Prevail, and Rob The Viking), hailing from Vancouver, British Columbia, pile on more zany, maniacal raps to hyper beats on their eleventh studio LP, Brand New Day. At the beginning of their music careers, specifically with their first few albums, they cultivated a more philosophical, underground sound with more sophisticated vocabularies and beats that were less in-your-face. As time passed and industry trends changed, they tended to put more emphasis on the more shocking qualities of their styles and less emphasis on the intelligence-charged, "back pack" qualities. Don't be mistaken, this Brand New Day album is packed with many great, witty rhymes. The difference is a shift in tone. Their recent power punches of violence raps and brash, harsh braggadocio seem here to stay for good. In other words, this album is focused primarily on the crew stomping their feet and explaining their wild exploits. An exception is the positive title track "Brand New Day," which harbors a bright outlook on the future and an appreciation of individuality. Hip hop is fortunate to have the Swollen Members in their fold. Look out for rhyme treasures and a crazy ride on Brand New Day.

Brand New Day can be streamed free at


Today's top buzz...

  • Mariah Carey
    Mariah Carey requires kittens before a show, but that's not the strangest celebrity rider
    Music Buzz
  • Clayton Kershaw
    Watch Clayton Kershaw throw a ball at Jimmy Kimmel
    Today's Buzz
  • Jessie J
    Jessie J enlists Ariana Grande and Nicki Minaj for her new song 'Bang Bang'
    Music Buzz
  • Journey
    Journey and Steve Miller jam out at the Shoreline Amphitheater
    16 Photos
  • Batman
    Batman and Robin Originals reveal comedy secrets at Comic-Con press conference
    12 Photos
  • Metta World Peace
    Metta World Peace gets physical during the Venice Basketball League game
    Sports Buzz