Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Overkill- White Devil Armory (2014 eOne Music)

Overkill- White Devil Armory


The more things change, the more they stay the same. Some for the good, and some for the bad. Overkill come roaring back with their latest offering “White Devil Armory”. Overkill have always been a grossly underrated band, that year after year continue to progress and evolve the way in which they bludgeon the ear drums of their legions of fans.How can there be a Big 4, 8, 12 , or any stupid number of thrash bands and not have a sincere mention of Overkill? There can’t,and any fan of metal that has any knowledge of thrash will most definitely want “The Wrecking Crew” included.

“White Devil Armory” kicks things off, literally, with a thunderous barrage of kick drum mayhem and chops of a precise surgeon in the track “Armorist”. For years I have wondered if Blitz was kept in a straight jacket until it is time to kick him on stage or in front of a microphone in the studio.He is a ball of destruction and energy , the likes that have not been matched since he first opened his mouth so many years ago. The new gift that Overkill has given all to hear has all the elements that have been staples of the band for what seems like forever. Heavy guitars, filled with chunky, fat, and choppy grooves, the powerful, destructive drums that leave ashes in their wake. Last but not least, D.D.!!!!!!! Verni, as always plays a thick low end that is what these thrashers have hung their hat on from day one. As usual there is just that Overkill time, and delivery throughout the album. They get better and better as time goes on, and “White Devil Armory” is a testament to that!

Overall, I give “White Devil Armory”, a 9 out of 10. If you are a fan of Overkill, you know you are getting another quality release.Songs like “King Of The Rat Bastards”, “Down To The Bone”, and “In The Name” are Overkill at their finest. No song is out of place on this album, and builds nicely to end with Overkill type anthem, the previously referenced “In The Name”. Once again, these New Jersey Thrashers have left the familiar and comfy confides of The Gutter to say Fuck You!

Track Listing

1- XDM

2- Armorist

3- Down To The Bone

4- PIG

5- Bitter Pill

6- Where There’s Smoke

7- Freedom Rings

8- Another Day To Die

9- King Of The Rat Bastards

10- It’s All Yours

11- In The Name

Find More at

Follow on Twitter @InThePitRadioJB

Report this ad