Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Nine Inch Nails and Soundgarden play career spanning hits in Mountain View

Soundgarden performs at Citi Presents Exclusive Soundgarden Performance Celebrating 20th Anniversary of 'Superunknown' at Webster Hall on June 2, 2014 in New York City
Soundgarden performs at Citi Presents Exclusive Soundgarden Performance Celebrating 20th Anniversary of 'Superunknown' at Webster Hall on June 2, 2014 in New York City
Photo by Theo Wargo

Nine Inch Nails and Soundgarden concert in Mountain View, CA August 24, 2014


One of the most celebrated “grunge” bands and the Godfather of industrial descended on Mountain View, California at the Shoreline Amphitheater in Mountain View, California on Sunday August 24, for the co-headlining tour of Soundgarden and Nine Inch Nails. Each band gave the audience exactly what they wanted, performing many of their best hits, highlighting their respective chart topping albums, Nine Inch Nails’ The Downward Spiral, and Soundgarden’s Superunknown, each turning 20 this year.

With a cloth curtain hiding the stage, lights flashed from behind showing silhouetted figures of Chris Cornell, Kim Thayil, and Ben Shepherd as the beginning the song “Searching With My Good Eye Closed”. The curtain came down as Soundgarden launched into a thirteen song set featuring their greatest hits, with only one song “A Thousand Days Before” from their critically acclaimed, and most recent album King Animal. With almost half the songs coming from the celebratory Superunknown, a couple gems from Ultramega OK with “Flower” and set closer “Beyond The Wheel”, Soundgarden seemed more of an opener rather than co-headliner. Still, and of course, Soundgarden’s performance showcased why they have lasted so long in the industry, surpassing all expectations, with Cornell’s voice in top form, but fans may have hoped for a longer and more diversified set.

As if on accident, the house lights stayed on as Nine Inch Nails frontman and creator Trent Reznor came out, with a single microphone only on stage. As he started singing the band’s single “Copy of A” from their latest album Hesitation Marks, each band member started making their way onstage, as if floating from each corner of the stage. As all instruments kicked in on the song, the house lights were cut to the feverish delight of screaming fans. Nine Inch Nails went on to play a 17 song set, highlighting almost every album of the band’s career. Songs included “Sanctified”, “Terrible Lie” and the genre defining “Head Like a Hole” from Pretty Hate Machine, “1,00,000” from The Slip, “The Hands That Feed” from With Teeth, and five from The Downward Spiral; “Piggy”, “Closer”, “March of Pigs”, “Eraser”, and of course, “Hurt”, which served as the encore. A perfect ending to a pretty close to perfect show.

An historic event and tour, Nine Inch Nails and Soundgarden end their joint venture on the road at the White River Amphitheater in Washington State on August 30.

Soundgarden setlist:

1. Searching With My Good Eye Closed
2. Spoonman
3. Flower
4. Outshined
5. Jesus Christ Pose
6. The Day I Tried to Live
7. My Wave
8. Superunknown
9. Fell On Black Days
10. A Thousand Days Before
11. Rusty Cage
12. Black Hole Sun
13. Beyond the Wheel

Nine Inch Nails setlist:

1. Copy Of A
2. Sanctified
3. Came Back Haunted
4. 1,000,000
5. March Of The Pigs
6. Piggy
7. Terrible Lie
8. Closer
9. Gave Up
10. Disappointed
11. Find My Way
12. The Great Destroyer
13. Eraser
14. Wish
15. The Hand That Feeds
16. Head Like a Hole
17. Hurt (Encore)

Report this ad