Skip to main content

See also:

Mill Creek re-releases ‘Anaconda’ to Blu-ray



Monster movies are one of the few genres that when done right really entertain, but have a high chance of going horribly wrong. In 1997 director Luis Llosa’s Anaconda starring Jennifer Lopez, Ice Cube, Jon Voight, Eric Stoltz, Kari Wuhrer and Owen Wilson hit theaters to mostly negative reviews but managed to become a big enough hit to spawn three sequels. Now Mill Creek Entertainment is bringing the film that started it all to Blu-ray once again.

Official Image
Mill Creek Entertainment

Anaconda follows a documentary film crew who travel down the Amazon River in search of a mysterious Indian tribe. On their journey they save a man from a sinking boat who offers to help in their search for the tribe, but he is actually a snake-hunter looking for the legendary Anaconda snake. This is one of those so bad its good entries into the killer creature feature. The story is simple and works fine, but the acting is a different story. Most of them deliver ok performances at best with Ice Cube spitting numerous stiff silly one-liners, but it’s Jon Voight that really hams it up. He gives easily the worst performance of his career complete with a laughable accent. The facial expression he has alone for the entire movie makes it worth watching. The really only saving grace to this film is the anaconda itself. The effects are at times a bit cheesy, but overall work pretty well and are a lot of fun to watch. In addition the movie kicks off with a young Danny Trejo in a small role that is worth checking out just to see the man who would be Machete in action.

There is no denying the silliness of this film and the wooden laughable performances, but there is a simple cheesy charm to it all that makes it a fun time. If you love a good cheesy monster movie and want to see Jennifer Lopez before she was JLo in action alongside Ice Cube with a confusing performance from Jon Voight then this is the film for you and no better time than now with the affordable price of this new release.

For more information head over to