Skip to main content

See also:

I Hate You, Kelly Donahue

I Hate You Kelly Donahue
Mark Svartz

Book by Mark Svartz

Rating:
Star4
Star
Star
Star
Star

Do you like movies in the vein of Napoleon Dynamite or Hot Rod? How about books like Forrest Gump or even Captain Underpants? If that type of hyper exaggerated comedy is your speed (I’m confessing that it is totally my kind of humor) then Mark Svartz’s first book is going to be right up your alley!

I Hate You, Kelly Donahue is one man’s journal (or battle plan binder) of obsession, accomplishments and ultimate betrayal written in a way that would have my pre-teenage boys laughing so hard they would have Capri Sun spraying out of their noses! Of course there are a few four letter words and no book about obsession is complete without a little repulsive sex added in, so they unfortunately won’t be reading it. I however, devoured the entire book in one sitting.

Svartz starts a new job and on his first day he comes across what would later be his obsession (nemesis) Kelly Donahue.

1/7/11

Started working at a new job today. Met a few interesting people. (Some of them are foreign-looking.) There was this one girl who said “Hi” in the elevator. All I know about her is that:

Her name is Kelly Donahue.

She sits near the fax machine.

And I VOW TO PHYSICALLY DEFEAT HER IN A PHYSICAL FIGHT TO THE DEATH PHYSICALLY!

Oh...new job has free coffee. I like it.

Svartz takes us through 9 months of obsessive planning and plotting in his journal which includes genuine documentation from Kelly Donahue.

We can read her emails:

Hey Mark,

Just curious, but were you going through my trash?

:)

-Kelly

He shares with us maps and graphs such as: I followed Kelly Donahue home from work map and Daily thoughts dedicated to “The Fight” graphs.

There is also original artwork done by Mark in this book with titles like, WE DID IT? (Sad penises.)

This is one crazy little book! With each turn of the page I got increasingly tickled at the obsessive humor.

Ladies, if you’ve ever wondered what that guy at work really thinks of you behind that sly smile, check out Mark Svartz’s new book. It will either crack you up or have you so scared you’ll never date a coworker again!!

Want to read more of Angel's work? Check out her site at www.angelmaynard.com

You can also follow her on Twitter @AngelvMaynard

Comments