Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Arts & Entertainment
  3. Music

G-Unit reunite for 'The Beauty Of Independence' EP

See also

The Beauty Of Independence EP by G-Unit


50 Cent, Lloyd Banks, Tony Yayo, and Young Buck of G-Unit are back once again, this time with The Beauty Of Independence EP, and they have a special talent to introduce, Kidd Kidd, who is new to their roster and label, G-Unit Records. The Beauty Of Independence is a great showing of solidarity from G-Unit, considering the fact that all four original members are on the EP. When nature dictates that groups tend to disband over time, this complete reunification is a feat in and of itself. The gang are essentially back to their old antics, and this consistency proves to be a fitting formula. The opener, "Watch Me," brings listeners up to speed and establishes the current level of musicality with which the group is comfortable and proficient. It is gangsta through and through, and as an introduction to G-Unit in 2014, it screams to audiences everywhere, "Here they are!" The follow up track, "I Don't F--- With You," is more real gangsterism over concert style cornets, giving way to "Digital Scale," a track almost exclusively dedicated to the subject of drug dealing, a topic which is touched on again in "The Plug." Nowhere is this G-Unit crew more eloquent, however, than on "Changes," where they discuss reversals of fortune and how nothing ever really remains the same over time. Overall the guys do a good job of being lyrical on a competitive level, and some nice, new territory is explored production-wise throughout. The Beauty Of Independence is a nice EP with high marks for having good energy and perfect attendance.