Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

'False Future' by Dan Krokos: Last book in the 'False Memory' series

Last in the False Memory series
courtesy of Disney-Hyperion

False Future by Dan Krokos


"False Future" by Dan Krokos ends the scifi young adult series that began with "False Memory." If it's been a while since you read "False Sight," rereading that second book in the series is probably a good idea.

The last book starts with a bang -- Earth being invaded by True Earth in Central Park. The protagonist of the series, Miranda, had died at the end of the second book. How will her friends help Earth repel the invaders? Miranda was a clone of the original Miranda, and luckily there is another clone waiting to be activated. It's Miranda with all her memories.

A summary of what happened in the first two books would help readers refresh their memories about the chain of events. Even skimming the second book prior to reading the third book wasn't enough for this reviewer to really remember what happened before the third book. However, those picking up the first book of the series and then reading all the books in order -- with very short pauses between each one -- will have a much easier time fully understanding what happens.

There are different worlds, and there are creatures who devour humans and cause other worlds to be a wasteland. That's what Miranda and her friends are fighting. They are trying to preserve life on Earth as we know it.

Krokos uses his realistic dialogue and descriptive powers to create worlds that become real. So while the story line can be a bit confusing, the action and the characters are not confusing at all. Krokos is a fine writer, and even with a confusing story line, the book is hard to put down. He creates great characters (some really evil, some just a bit evil) and even the best of them make mistakes and have doubts. Just like us all.

This series would be a great suggestion for middle school kids who like excitement and fantasy. There's so much action, it's almost like a video game made into a book.

Please note: This review is based on the final hardcover book provided by the publisher, Disney-Hyperion, for review purposes.

Follow the National Book Examiner on Facebook and Twitter.

If you would like to continue receiving book reviews, including information about author appearances, author interviews and giveaways, please click the "Subscribe" icon. It's free and anonymous. Thank you for reading, and thank you for sharing this article with others.

Report this ad