Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Arts & Entertainment
  3. Music

Danika Holmes and Jeb Hart shine on new album 'Balance, Volume 1'

See also

Danika Holmes CD


Singer-songwriter Danika Holmes released her newest album "Balance, Volume 1" independently on May 6. It features fellow musician Jeb Hart.

This acoustic project commences with two brand new original tracks "In a Memory" and "Black Swan." It is followed by "Unlit Match" and the soothing "Time for a Change," where her vocals are rich and crisp.

The refreshing "Without Love" is one of my favorites from the first half of the record and her cove of "While My Guitar Gently Weeps" is quite haunting and impressive (one of the best renditions I've heard since James Durbin covered it on American Idol).

Holmes and Hart also cover such classics as "Some Kind of Wonderful" and "Superstition."

"Intermission" has great instrumentals in it and she will make Corinne Bailey Rae happy with her version of "Put Your Records On."

It closes with the angelic "Bluebird" and it offers "Press Play" as a bonus track, which is another gem.

Overall, Danika Holmes and Jeb Hart have done a solid job on this musical effort. It is well-written and they prove that they don't need heavy instrumentation to let their music shine. They do an incredible job with their acoustic instruments. It garners 4 out of 5 stars.

For more information on singing sensation Danika Holmes and her new acoustic CD, check out her official website.


Today's top buzz...

  • Weird Al
    'Weird Al' Yankovic gains his first number one album with 'Mandatory Fun'
    Music Buzz
  • LeBron James
    Frank Caliendo channels Morgan Freeman when reading LeBron James' letter
    NBA Buzz
  • NFL jerseys
    New York Giants and Jets fail to breach NFL's top 25 in jersey sales
    NFL Buzz
  • Slash
    Slash and The Conspirators crush it at Hard Rock, AP Awards
    20 Photos
  • Monks of Mellonwah
    Exclusive interview: Monks of Mellonwah talk music, touring and more
    9 Photos
  • Bad Company
    Bad Company and Lynyrd Skynyrd deliver a double dose of hits at the Blossom Music Center
    20 Photos