Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Arts & Entertainment
  3. Music

Curse the Gods: Seeking the Frostfire

See also

Curse the Gods' first studio album: Seeking the Frostfire


The first studio album from Curse the Gods is everything their growing fanbase would hope for. From start to finish it takes the listener on a journey through a fantasy world filled with fire-breathing dragons, unholy spirits and tales of warriors' bloodshed in epic battles.

Although the group is primarily known for its unapologetically heavy riffs and vocals that sound as if they're delivered by a demon that just crawled out of the depths of Hell, there are also many clean, intricate guitar melodies on multiple tracks, including the opening instrumental number, Wanderlust. These serve to give the album dynamics that even a non-metal fan could appreciate.

The lyrical context of songs such as "Betrayer of Deities" and "Dark Resurrection" is, to say the least, blasphemous and intended to offend. If you are a hardcore believer in any organized religion, this is probably not a band for you.

Many of the tracks can be heard as rallying cries of warriors of the past. "Brothers in Blood" and "Wenches Ale 'N' Herb" are fine examples of the glorification of such themes that the band loves to explore through its music and imagery.

The band held a cd release show on July 16 at the Roc Bar in Cleveland, Oh, which garnered a solid turnout according to guitarist Joe Kasl. The album is now available on iTunes as well as on cd for $10.



Today's top buzz...

  • La Toya Jackson
    La Toya Jackson hits the club in music video for 'Feels Like Love'
    Music Buzz
  • Kliff Kingsbury
    Italy's Vincenzo Nibali wins the 2014 Tour de France
    Today's Buzz
  • Johnny Manziel
    Here's why there is no need for Jonny Manziel to apologize for his offseason partying
    NFL Buzz
  • Guys and Dolls
    Guys and Dolls at the PACE Center: Community theater at it's finest
    15 Photos
  • Cheap Trick
    Cheap Trick brings an explosive set of hits to Phoenix on their U.S. tour
    20 Photos
  • Most Wanted Man
    'A Most Wanted Man' shows Phillip Seymour Hoffman at his best
    14 Photos