Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Arts & Entertainment
  3. Music

Country and Rock spice up Tejano

See also

Record album by Los Lonely Boys: Los Lonely Boys (2004)


Here’s why this album should be in your collection!

Los Lonely Boys (2004) was not the band’s first album or even their first self-titled one. But that fact may only matter to collectors.

The core of Los Lonely Boys is three brothers: Henry (guitar vocals), Jojo (bass vocals), and Ringo (drums, percussion, vocals). Their father fronted a band called The Falcones during the 1970’s and 80’s. Ringo Sr. encouraged his sons to expand their musical experience beyond Texas. They moved to Nashville, where they learned to add country to the soul, blues, and tejano elements they were already using in rock performances.

When the brothers returned to Texas, they caught the attention of Willie Nelson. Nelson invited them to record Los Lonely Boys at his studio in Austin and performed on one of the tracks. The other backing musicians were John Porter (acoustic guitar), Diego Simmons (percussion), and Reese Wynans (piano organ).

The album contains “Heaven,” which rose to the top of several USA charts and won a Grammy. But check out all the tracks, especially “More Than Love,” “Tell Me Why,” “Señorita,” and “Onda.”

This album is available in CD and MP3 format from major vendors. Please consider purchasing it from a local independent record store.

Here’s an interesting fact!

Reese Wynans is a renowned session artist who was one of the performers in a jam session that led to founding the Allman Brothers Band. It was Willie Nelson who inducted the Allman Brothers Band into the Rock Hall of Fame.


Today's top buzz...

  • Weird Al
    'Weird Al' Yankovic gains his first number one album with 'Mandatory Fun'
    Music Buzz
  • LeBron James
    Frank Caliendo channels Morgan Freeman when reading LeBron James' letter
    NBA Buzz
  • NFL jerseys
    New York Giants and Jets fail to breach NFL's top 25 in jersey sales
    NFL Buzz
  • Slash
    Slash and The Conspirators crush it at Hard Rock, AP Awards
    20 Photos
  • Monks of Mellonwah
    Exclusive interview: Monks of Mellonwah talk music, touring and more
    9 Photos
  • Bad Company
    Bad Company and Lynyrd Skynyrd deliver a double dose of hits at the Blossom Music Center
    20 Photos