Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Arts & Entertainment
  3. Music

CD review: Infectious music from Plastic Planets

See also

the self-titled debut CD from Plastic Planets


Be forewarned, the self-titled debut CD from Orlando/Miami based band Plastic Planets is extremely catchy. One listen is all it takes to get hooked on the band’s atmospheric rock music. Repeated listens will only heighten and solidify the experience for listeners.

Plastic Planets is Jeffrey Alan Wright (Social Ghost, Blue Man Group) on drums, Eric Van Lugo (Social Ghost) on bass and vocals and Roy Mitchell-Cárdenas (MUTEMATH) on guitar. The band members’ experiences with their other musical projects come shining through on this CD. Their well-crafted songs are a creative fusion of rock, pop, prog/electro and psychedelic music that have an overall classic rock sound.

The ten songs on this CD attest to the band’s diverse sound. There are up-tempo, bubbly pop style songs “No Regrets” and “Follow” and there are edgier songs such as “Useless” and “Sunshine.” “Brother” and “Sunshine” are both highlighted by the sonically diverse sounds Mitchell-Cárdenas coaxes out of his guitar. Their song “Me Go” has a striking vintage rock feel to it, like something new and old intertwined. The CD closes with the spacecadelic sounds of “Little Star.”

The Plastic Planets debut CD is a spirited musical adventure teeming with immensely infectious songs and textured walls of atmospheric music, perfect for fans of varied styles of music.

The CD was released on the band’s Bandcamp site in December, but gets an official release show January 10 at The Haven in Orlando with the band’s first live show. Also on the bill is Orlando band Empire Theory. The doors open at 8 p.m. and tickets are $8 for this 18+ show.

Music fans can find out more about Plastic Planets in this article and also on the band’s Facebook page or Twitter feed.


Today's top buzz...

  • Backstreet Boys
    The Backstreet Boys have canceled several upcoming Israel shows, citing safety concerns
    Music Buzz
  • NFL
    The NFL is considering adding a stadium to Los Angeles, but is it a good idea?
    NFL Buzz
  • Hulk Hogan
    Hulk Hogan and Steve Austin are on board for this year's WWE SummerSlam
    WWE News
  • Paul McCartney
    Get an exclusive look at Paul McCartney's soundcheck for a recent performance
    20 Photos
  • Oscar contenders
    Oscar season is about to begin as fall festivals announce films
    9 Photos
  • Sammy Hagar
    Sammy Hagar is taking fans on a raucous history of rock on the road
    20 Photos

Related Videos:

  • Italian Meatballs
    <iframe width="420" height="315" src="//;VQ=HD720&amp;allowfullscreen=true&amp;autoplay=1"></iframe>
  • Phish
    <iframe width="560" height="315" src="//;allowfullscreen=true&amp;autoplay=1"></iframe>
  • 'Dawn of The Planet of the Apes' soundtrack album
    <div class="video-info" data-id="518313585" data-param-name="playList" data-provider="5min" data-url=""></div>