Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Anita Wilson's upcoming release, Vintage Worship, is a breath of fresh air

Anita Wilson's sophomore CD, Vintage Worship, will be released on June 24th.
Anita Wilson's sophomore CD, Vintage Worship, will be released on June 24th.
Motown Gospel

Anita Wilson's Vintage Worship


Grammy, Stellar and Dove-award nominated singer Anita Wilson returns to the Gospel music scene with her sophomore album, Vintage Worship. Vintage Worship, which will be released in stores and online via Motown Gospel on Tuesday, June 24th, is a wonderful collection of masterfully crafted tunes with ingredients of classic gospel, funk, soul, pop and R&B all while making sure that Jesus Christ is the center of the CD's attention. Wilson, who was named by Essence Magazine as one of 15 Gospel Artists to Watch in 2014, delivers a solid follow up to her impressive debut album, Worship Soul, which was released in 2012.

Vintage Worship begins with the piano and string laced interlude, "Close to You", which helps to set the tone for the entire CD. Here, Wilson passionately declares that she desires to have a more closer, personal relationship with Jesus. "That's What He's Done For Me", which is the official first single of Vintage Worship, is a foot-stomping, toe tapping uptempo song where Wilson shares with the listener that her life is so much better since she gave Jesus her heart 100%. The funky yet edgy "So Gone" is another song of adoration for Wilson where she sings that she will never leave the side of Jesus because He is just that important to her. This particular song really hits its peak at the 3 and a half minute mark as it almost transforms into a whole new song. For the next 4 minutes, Wilson is praising the Lord over a Latin influenced melody. Vintage Worship also has a number of enchanting praise ballads such as "Oh How I Love Jesus" and "Reason (Don't Take Your Love Away)".

Vintage Worship is a very good CD that is sure to be a favorite among Gospel music fans. The CD is such a breath of fresh air because Wilson stays true to the formula that made Worship Soul such an impressive debut while also exploring creative ways to praise the Lord. You can hear the sincerity in her delivery, which, in my opinion, is missing in a lot of today's Gospel music. Pick up a copy of Vintage Worship on June will not be disappointed!

Vintage Worship Track Listing

  1. Close to You (Interlude)
  2. That's What He's Done For Me
  3. Gooder Than Good
  4. You Love Me (Best of My Love)
  5. Everything (Definition of a Friend)
  6. Keep Doing What You're Doing
  7. Reasons (Don't Take Your Love Away) featuring Tommy Sims
  8. So Gone
  9. Time After Time featuring Anaysha Figueroa Cooper
  10. Oh How I Love Jesus featuring Avery Sunshine and Bishop Yvette Flunder
  11. The Real Me
  12. Happy Being Me
Report this ad