Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Arts & Entertainment
  3. Music

An evening to remember with Sir Elton John

See also

Elton John concert in Dallas, TX


Elton John put on an amazing show at the American Airlines Center in Dallas Thursday night. Elton played to a full house for three solid hours, hit after hit, with no intermission nor any kind of a break. The night began with Elton John seated at his ivory grand piano, where he performed the A side of his album, Goodbye Yellow Brick Road, straight through, in its entirety. The songs which make up this side of the album are "Funeral for a Friend/Love Lies Bleeding", "Candle in the Wind", and "Bennie and the Jets". Some of the other songs by Elton heard at the AAC were "Tiny Dancer", "Goodbye Yellow Brick Road", "Don't Let The Sun Go Down On Me", "Someone Saved My Life Tonight", "Rocket Man", "Holiday Inn", "Saturday Night's Alright For Fighting", plus many, many more. .

More Photos

To me, one of the most impressive aspects of this concert was Elton John's down to earth, friendly, respectful attitude towards his fans. My seat was in a section that is actually behind the stage, Section 203, but it really was a great seat with an awesome view of the stage. When sitting in this area of the expansive AAC, usually you are lucky if the band members might turn around to face you two or three times throughout the performance. Elton made it a point to acknowledge the entire crowd after each and every song, circling the perimeter of the stage, raising his arms and beaming in all directions. It was obvious how much he dearly loves performing for his adoring fans. At the end of the night, after the lights had been turned down only for a few minutes, all of the lights suddenly came back on, lighting up the entire venue. Elton John came back out on the stage, by himself, and walked along the front of the stage, shaking hands, and signing just about anything that was handed to him - photos, magazines, record albums; I even saw him sign someone's baseball cap.

Then the rest of his band rejoined Elton on stage, where they played a lengthy encore which included "The Bitch is Back", "Your Song", "Honky Cat", "I'm Still Standing", and "Crocodile Rock". The members of the Elton John Band are Davey Johnston - Musical Director, Guitars, Mandolin, Banjo, Vocals, Matt Bissonette - Bass Guitar, Vocals, Kim Bullard - Keyboards, John Mahon - Percussion, Drums, Vocals, and Nigel Olsson - Drums, Vocals.

If you did not make it to the concert and you can't make it to Vegas to see his show, all is not lost . . . . you can see Elton John's extravagant performance at The Colisseum at Caesar's Palace in Las Vegas on film. "Elton John, The Million Dollar Piano" will soon be released, playing in cinemas worldwide. You can also click on the highlighted text in this article to see more videos of Elton John's performance here at the AAC on March 13.


Related Videos:

  • Into the Pit: Chris Jericho
    <iframe width="560" height="315" src="//;allowfullscreen=true&amp;autoplay=1"></iframe>
  • Riot Fest in Denver
    <div class="video-info" data-id="518128798" data-param-name="playList" data-provider="5min" data-url=""></div>
  • Critical Bill at Macomb Music Theatre 9-13-14
    <iframe width="420" height="315" src="//;allowfullscreen=true&amp;autoplay=1"></iframe>