Skip to main content

See also:

A lone Eagle soars majestically

Don Henley's best solo album featured an impressive roster of music legends.
Don Henley's best solo album featured an impressive roster of music legends.
Original Cover: Geffen Records

Record album by Don Henley: The End of the Innocence (1989)


Here’s why this album should be in your collection!

The End of the Innocence (1989) was the third and best solo album by Don Henley during his separation from the Eagles.

Henley built a very successful discography. He composed “Leather and Lace” with Stevie Nicks. “Dirty Laundry” from his first solo album reached #3 on USA charts. The 1984 single “The Boys of Summer” earned a Grammy award. Henley won another Grammy and an MTV award for “The End of the Innocence.” The song received critical acclaim for Bruce Hornsby’s signature piano performance. (Here is a live version.)

The album contains several other great tracks: “New York Minute,” “The Last Worthless Evening,” “I Will Not Go Quietly,” and “The Heart of the Matter,” which became a cover hit for India Arie. It also contains many legendary musical guests, including Sheryl Crow, Axl Rose, Ivan Neville, Patty Smyth, Take 6, Melissa Ethridge, Wayne Shorter, David Paich and Jeff Porcaro (from Toto), Maxine Waters, and J.D. Souther, a frequent co-composer.

In 1994, the Eagles launched a concert tour and a live album named for Henley’s prediction about when the band would regroup: Hell Freezes Over.

This album is available in CD and MP3 format from major vendors. Please consider purchasing it from a local independent record store.

Here’s an interesting fact!

The Eagles’ Rock and Roll Hall of Fame induction performance featured its past and current members: Don Felder, Glenn Frey, Bernie Leadon, Randy Meisner, Timothy B. Schmit, Joe Walsh, and Henley.