Skip to main content
  1. Arts & Entertainment
  2. Books

A Detroit Thriller

See also

Don’t Look for Me. By Loren D. Estleman. 283 pages. $26.99.

Rating:
Star5
Star
Star
Star
Star

Estleman is a detective fiction writer in the vein of James Crumley and Elmore Leonard. His detective is one Amos Walker, a hard-boiled, wise-cracking, hard-drinking, hard-loving, resourceful rogue who can look death in the eye without blinking. His latest Amos Walker book is set in Detroit, a city Estleman knows very well. In fact, the book is laced with Detroit history and geography, some of which gets a bit tiresome at the time, but only because his occasional digressions on Detroit slow down the plot, and as a reader, you really want to know what happens next.

The case begins with a rich husband looking for a wife who has vanished, leaving a note that reads only “Don’t look for me.” Walker takes the case, understanding that a guy like his client doesn’t want to involve the police if he doesn’t have to. While searching for the missing wife, Walker meets a nubile young woman named Smoke, who soon hops in bed with him. He also stumbles over the dead body of the manager of an herbal remedy store where the missing missus used to buy her supplements. Then when two Israeli agents nab him, he begins to realize that his missing person case has inadvertently led him to something bigger, an old nemesis who wants him dead and western civilization destroyed. When the Israelis are murdered Walker realizes his bed-mate Smoke may be in trouble, so he tries to protect her, only to be surprised by what he finds.

In the end, after saving the free world, Walker finds himself alone again, and, nosing around, solves the case of the missing wife. A very good read.

Advertisement

Arts & Entertainment

  • La Toya Jackson
    La Toya Jackson hits the club in music video for 'Feels Like Love'
    Headlines
  • Keith Urban
    Dozens of concertgoers were treated for alcohol-related illnesses at a Keith Urban show
    Video
    Today's Buzz
  • Comic-Con
    Check out some of the sexiest women on hand at this year's Comic-Con
    Camera
    20 Photos
  • The Hunger Games
    The trailer for 'The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1' has debuted online
    Camera
    17 Photos
  • Beck
    Beck makes good on their long absence from St. Louis with a two hour set
    Camera
    17 Photos
  • Wonder Woman
    Take an in-depth look at the hot new costume we'll be seeing on Wonder Woman
    Video
    Pop Culture