Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Arts & Entertainment
  3. Music

3 Years Hollow debut The Cracks is album of the year worthy

See also

The Cracks by 3 Years Hollow


It’s time to wipe away the dullness that winter has brought to us all and get recharged with new music; the years most outstanding new album may well be from a new band completely as 3 Years Hollow explodes onto the scene with their new album releasing on February 11th titled “The Cracks”.

Their breakout independent single "Remember" charted at #1 on Octane, while "Chemical Ride" is closing in on 400,000 YouTube views. In 2012, they emerged as regional victors during the Ernie Ball-sponsored Rockstar Energy UPROAR Festival "Battle of the Bands.” The band played the UPROAR Festival at Tinley Park, IL and caught the attentions of Imagen Records who was soon offering them a deal and the result is an album that will shake the earth and redefine what a new band should sound like. Of course, it helps having Sevendust/Call Me No One guitarist/writer Clint Lowery produce and join in on a song, “For Life.”

3 Years Hollow is:

  • Jose Urquiza: Lead Vocals
  • Tony Reeves: Guitar
  • Neil Kuhlman: Guitar/Vocals
  • Dex Digga: Bass Guitar/Vocals
  • Chris Cushman: Drums

The Cracks tracklist:

  1. The Devil's Slave
  2. Chemical Ride
  3. For Life (Featuring Clint Lowery)
  4. The Cracks
  5. Fallen
  6. Taken By All
  7. Hungry
  8. Run Away
  9. We Belong
  10. Take The World
  11. Lost
  12. Remember (remastered)

Recording sessions for 'The Cracks' occurred at several different studios, including Groovemaster Studios (where Disturbed, Sevendust, and Pop Evil have all recorded) in Chicago, IL, Trailer Studios in St. Louis, MO, and the band's own studio, Real Trax Recording, in Davenport, IA.

Vocalist Jose Urquiza says, “"We want to play melodic hard rock, that’s the music that brought us together. At the same time, we all have drastically different influences from progressive rock to hair metal to pop punk."

The bands talents shine across the album and the band has garnered some successes already on Sirius XM Octane, which added the song, "Remember" (of which a remastered version resides on 'The Cracks') to their rotation. Soon after, the song hit #1 on the channel, while all of the group's videos have attracted nearly 500,000 YouTube views.

The song ‘For Life’ has a message within the lyrics explains Urquiza, “"It's about a person who is struggling and has fallen away from the world alone. You can see the damage and the demons the person deals with on a daily basis. However, all of a sudden, there is hope instead of despair. The final message is to pull away from the demons, stand strong against them, and keep them out for the rest of your life. It was such an honor to bring that track to life with Clint."

This writer is nominating this as a potential best new band in the rock world right now and will add best album to that with no reservations. 3 Year Hollow is that good on ‘The Cracks’ so check them out, call your radio station to get them played and demand to see them this year near you. Look for it everywhere on February 11th!



Today's top buzz...

  • Coachella
    Get ready for the second weekend of Coachella with this fun guide
    Music News
  • St. Louis Rams
    The Rams are offering $100K to anyone who can guess their 2014 schedule correctly
    NFL News
  • X-Men
    The final 'X-Men: Days of Future Past' trailer is here, and it's marvelous
    Hot Trailers
  • Russell Westbrook
    See the NBA playoff teams that might consider making a panic trade
    NBA Buzz
  • Paul Walker
    Paul Walker's brothers will stand in for him on the set of 'Fast and the Furious 7'
    Movies Buzz
  • Matt Moore
    Rays pitcher Matt Moore will be undergoing season-ending elbow surgery
    MLB Buzz

Related Videos:

  • The Honey Trees
    <iframe width="560" height="315" src="//;autoplay=1"></iframe>
  • Days of Abandon
    <div class="video-info" data-id="517413873" data-param-name="playList" data-provider="5min" data-url=""></div>
  • Catherine Russell attacks jazz vocals as if born to the role
    <iframe width="560" height="315" src="//;autoplay=1"></iframe>

User login

Log in
Sign in with your email and password. Or reset your password.
Write for us
Interested in becoming an Examiner and sharing your experience and passion? We're always looking for quality writers. Find out more about and apply today!