Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

The ‘show of shows’ for beginning Fla. filmmakers

Palm Beach International Film Festival (April 3-10, 2014)

Lynn University’s Keith C. and Elaine Johnson Wold Performing Arts Center in Boca Raton was the scene for the 19th Annual 2014 Student Showcase of Films where finalists were selected out of 256 entries, the winners announced with more than $10,000 in cash and scholarships awarded. Student Showcase of Films (SSOF) is the largest statewide film competition for students enrolled in high school as well as college film and television programs. The Palm Beach International Film Festival (PBIFF), in collaboration with the Palm Beach County Film & Television Commission hosted the festivities in honor of Florida’s next generation of filmmakers.

About the Palm Beach International Film Festival (April 3-10, 2014)

The PBIFF is a not for profit 501 (c) 3 founded in 1996 with the vision of offering an exciting cultural venue for the community and to be a tremendous fundraiser for educational film and television programs. The festival hosts more than 15,000 filmgoers annually, has been recognized as one of the Top 10 Destination Film Festivals in the World by Moviemaker Magazine. The festival has screened more than 322World Premieres, 177 Student Films and 2,168 films from 65 countries.

The PBIFF has welcomed a bevy of top talent and filmmakers including: Academy Award® Winners Adrien Brody, Anthony Hopkins, Tommy Lee Jones, Faye Dunaway, Dennis Hopper, Louise Fletcher and Michael Caine; Academy Award® Nominees Salma Hayek, Edward Norton, Robert Evans, Sylvester Stallone, Woody Harrelson, Richard Jenkins and Burt Reynolds. Along with countless other legends, stars and filmmakers that have created movie magic for the past 80 years, including: Roger Moore, Faye Wray, Esther Williams, Anouk Aimee, Samuel L. Jackson, Cyd Charisse, Richard Zanuck, William Friedkin, Brett Ratner, Jacqueline Bisset, Michael Clarke Duncan and Rod Steiger.

  • See attached list for winners by category and info on Burt Reynolds and Sara Fuller scholarships.

REF: Press release, PB Film and Television Commission, Mar.2014


And the winners are . . .
And the winners are . . . Kelly King

And the winners are . . .

Regarding the Student Showcase of Films entries, they were judged by 27 industry professionals from around the United States and winning student films will be screened in their entirety during the film festival in April 2014. The placements of the winners for the Feature/Short category as well as the winners of the Burt Reynolds scholarship, Sara Fuller Scholarship and Audience Award, were revealed at 19th annual awards ceremony. Presenters of the awards were stars Burt Reynolds, David Henrie, Rob Van Winkle and Sheena Colette.

Feature/Short, College presented by Sheena Colette

1st Place - Kyle Adams, Florida State University, Axiom

2nd Place - Hyungik Lee, Florida State University, Banana Trip

3rd Place -Curtis Adair, Florida State University, Little Africa

Feature/Short, High School presented by David Henrie

1st Place - Trevor Viner, Calvary Christian, The End of the Beginning

2nd Place - Julie Bergman, Spanish River High School, Bright Eyes

3rd Place- Rachel Andelman, Shorecrest High School, The Zipper

Audience Award ($500)

1st Place- Daniela Arguello, Cypress Bay High School, Reverie

Burt Reynolds Scholarship Winner ($2,500)

Raymond Knudsen, G-Star School of the Arts

Sara Fuller Scholarship Winner ($500)

Ben Beeler, G-Star School of the Arts

SSOF’s competition winners in other categories include:

1st Place Commercial/PSA

Daniela Arguello, Cypress Bay High School, Disconnected

1st Place Documentary

Jon Sams, Florida State University, The Surreal and the Self

1st Place Music Video

Julia Carlin, Palm Beach Central High School, Delirium

1st Place Animation

Joon Soo Song, Joon Shik Song and Josiah Haworth, Ringling, Brain Divided

1st Place Nellie and Fred Chasin Screenwriting

Frank Canas, Seminole Ridge High School, The Right Thing

1st Place Poster

Liana Rodriguez, South Tech Academy

Photo: Finalists with Burt Reynolds and Suzanne Neidland

Burt Reynolds Scholarship Winner ($2,500)
Burt Reynolds Scholarship Winner ($2,500) Kelly King

Burt Reynolds Scholarship Winner ($2,500)

Raymond Knudsen, G-Star School of the Arts

The namesake of this scholarship (Burt Reynolds) is symbolic of the trials and tribulations, then the agony and the ecstasy that a beginning artist may have to take for ultimate success. Like the recipients of the Burt Reynolds Scholarships, for Burt Reynolds himself, the Florida State Drama Award included a scholarship to the Hyde Park Playhouse, a summer stock theater, in Hyde Park, New York. Reynolds saw the opportunity as an agreeable alternative to more physically demanding summer jobs, but did not yet see acting as a career.

While working at Hyde Park, Reynolds met Joanne Woodward, who helped Reynolds find an agent, and was cast in Tea and Sympathy at the Neighborhood Playhouse in New York City. He received favorable reviews for his performance and went on tour with Tea and Sympathy, driving the bus as well as appearing on stage.

After the tour Reynolds returned to New York and enrolled in acting classes. His classmates included Frank Gifford, Carol Lawrence, Red Buttons and Jan Murray. After a botched improvisation in acting class, Reynolds briefly considered returning to Florida, but he soon got a part in a revival of Mister Roberts, with Charlton Heston as the star. After the play closed, the director, John Forsythe, arranged a movie audition with Joshua Logan for Reynolds. The movie was Sayonara, and Reynolds was told that he could not be in the movie because he looked too much like Marlon Brando

Congratulations to Raymond Knudsen, G-Star School of the Arts, you can walk many miles if you walk in the stylist shoes of Burt Reynolds when it comes to films and filmmaking.


Sara Fuller Scholarship Winner ($500)
Sara Fuller Scholarship Winner ($500) Photobucket

Sara Fuller Scholarship Winner ($500)

Ben Beeler, G-Star School of the Arts

Film Florida created the Sara Fuller Student Scholarship in recognition of organizations that support Film Education. The program's namesake, Sara Fuller, was a true pioneer in Florida’s Production Industry, and this scholarship will honor her memory by supporting future filmmakers and encouraging excellence in the field of motion picture education.

Film Florida, Inc is a not-for-profit corporation that provides a leadership role in Florida's film and entertainment industries and represents a coalition of interests, including private industry, local film commissions, labor organizations and industry associations. Its purpose, as a statewide trade association, is to promote the creation of jobs in the film and entertainment production industries and to promote economic development and tourism in the State of Florida.

Congratulations to Ben Beeler, G-Star School of the Arts and may he reach high and obtain goals farther than his imagination for complete success.


Report this ad