Being vegetarian or vegan has become very popular lately, especially with celebrities. Some unexpected celebrities who are vegans or vegetarians may shock you. The difference between vegans and vegetarians are that vegetarians don’t eat meat, but they eat dairy products such as eggs and milk. Vegans don’t eat any animal products what so ever. But, what some may not know about being a vegetarian is that most cheese they consume has meat in it.
There are a few brands that are safe for vegetarians that even celebrities must know about. But most contain an ingredient called ‘rennet, rennin, or enzymes’. To make a long story short, this enzyme is derived from an un-weaned slaughtered calf’s fourth stomach. Many vegetarians, even some celebrities just assume cheese is safe because it is not meat. It is difficult to be a vegetarian because you have to look at every ingredient of every food to make sure it is safe for consumption.
The following is a list of celebrities who are either vegan or vegetarian. Maybe one of your idols is a vegetarian and you'll see why being vegetarian isn't a bad thing.