Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Arts & Entertainment
  3. Music

Yamaha Entertainment Group celebrates 'Nathan East' album release

See also

Yamaha Entertainment Group of America recently hosted a celebration in honor of Nathan East’s long-awaited solo debut recording at Ocean Way Hollywood - Studio A. The self-titled album was produced by Chris Gero and Nathan East and features such stellar artists as Bob James, Michael McDonald, Stevie Wonder, David Paich, Ray Parker, Jr., and Chuck Loeb as well as special performance by Sara Bareilles, among others.

At this evening’s performance, Chris Gero, the founder and vice president of Yamaha Entertainment Group of America, offered his gratitude to those who made the event possible and to those who have supported the record. “This record represents the best of Nathan... it’s his soul,” stated Gero. He later shared a few stories about his 20+ years relationship with the award-winning bassist/composer/vocalist. Gero then introduced Nathan East to the celebrity-filled audience which included Patti Austin, Rickey Minor, Harvey Mason, Lee Ritenour, Gregg Phillinganes, as well as several of East’s family members.

Nathan then took the stage and dedicated tonight’s performance to his late friend and collaborator Ricky Lawson before launching into the East/Thompson hit “Daft Funk.” The song, which was the most added single in the country this week on Billboard’s Smooth Jazz Chart, was followed by Pat Metheny’s “Letter from Home,” a beautiful ballad that showcased East’s excellent vocalese and 5-string bass chops. “Can’t Find My Way Home,” the Eric Clapton masterwork that East had the pleasure of performing on with Clapton, also held the audience spellbound. Nathan East delivered the story behind the song with smooth vocals that captured the beauty and moods that made this song a hit. They closed the evening with a rousing, funky, version of Stevie Wonder’s classic hit “Sir Duke.”

Exemplary work from tonight’s band members - Michael Thompson, Ray Parker, Jr., Toto’s David Paich, Jeff Babko, Tom Scott, Rick Baptist, Andy Marks, Tim Common, James East, Steve Ferrone, among others - made the evening of friends and music essential for those eagerly awaiting Nathan East’s debut album which is set for release on March 25, 2014. The 13-track CD features a mix of original tracks and covers from East's work in R&B, pop, rock and jazz, including Wonder's “Sir Duke”, Pat Metheny's “Letter From Home” and “101 Eastbound” by Fourplay, of which Nathan East is a founding member.

For more information and to purchase Nathan East on Yamaha Entertainment Group, order it here.


Today's top buzz...

  • Jack White
    Reddit users have fun photoshopping an angry Jack White at a Cubs game
    Music Buzz
  • Kliff Kingsbury
    Kliff Kingsbury reads a series of flattering tweets praising his good looks
    Today's Buzz
  • Jamaal Charles
    Kansas City Chiefs make Jamaal Charles the second highest paid running back in NFL
    NFL Buzz
  • Slash
    Slash and The Conspirators crush it at Hard Rock, AP Awards
    20 Photos
  • Monks of Mellonwah
    Exclusive interview: Monks of Mellonwah talk music, touring and more
    9 Photos
  • Nikki Bella
    How will fans react if the WWE decides to turn Nikki Bella into a heel?
    5 Photos