Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

YALSA Elects Candice A. Mack President, ALCTS Elects Norm Medeiros

The American Library Association (A.L.A.) announced on Friday, May 9, 2014 that members of the Young Adult Library Services Association (Y.A.L.S.A.), a division of the A.L.A., had selected Candice Anne Wing-Yee Mack as the Y.A.L.S.A.’s next president-elect to begin her term as president-elect in June of 2014, becoming president for one year in June of 2015.[1] The A.L.A. announced on Monday, May 12, 2014 that Norm Medeiros, Associate Librarian for Collection Management and Metadata Services at Haverford College in Haverford, Pennsylvania., has been elected the 2015-2016 President of the Association for Library Collections and Technical Services (A.L.C.T.S.), also a division of the A.L.A.

"I'm honored, humbled and thrilled at this incredible opportunity to give back to YALSA as president-elect and president,” Ms. Mack said. “With my passion for social justice, and background fighting budget cuts, I look forward to working with the members to ensure that YALSA achieves its strategic goals of increasing and supporting advocacy, activism, member engagement and recruitment."

Ms. Mack is a Senior Librarian & System-wide Coordinator of Volunteer Services at the Los Angeles Public Library. She currently serves as a director-at-large on Y.A.L.S.A.’s Board of Directors and Chair of the Board Standing Committee on Advocacy.

The 2012 A.L.A. Emerging Leader and Spectrum Scholar has previously volunteered her time as chair of the Great Graphic Novels committee and the Division and Membership Promotion committee and served as a member of the Diversity Campaign Taskforce. She also reviews graphic novels and Y.A. (young adult, meaning teenage) fiction for Booklist. Ms. Mack is a lifetime member and former board member-at-large of the Asian/Pacific American Librarians Association.

In addition, Y.A.L.S.A. elected three new members of its board of directors and new members for its 2016 Edwards, Printz and Nonfiction committees. Y.A.L.S.A. membership also approved a proposal to limit the number of required standing committees.

The full Y.A.L.S.A. election results are posted online. For over fifty years, Y.A.L.S.A. has worked to build the capacity of libraries and librarians to engage, serve, and empower teens. For more information about Y.A.L.S.A. or to access national guidelines and other resources go to, or contact the Y.A.L.S.A. office by phone, 800-545-2433, ext. 4390, or e-mail at yalsa [at]

Norm Medeiros previously held positions at New York University School of Medicine and Hartwick College. Medeiros holds an M.L.I.S. from the University of Rhode Island and a B.A. in English/Writing & Communications from University of Massachusetts Dartmouth.

Medeiros currently serves as a director-at-large on the A.L.C.T.S. Board and as book review editor for Library Resources & Technical Services, the A.L.C.T.S. research journal. He has also served as Chairman of the Planning Committee, as a member of the A.L.C.T.S. Publishing Review Task Force, and as Chairman of the A.L.C.T.S. Publications Committee, as well as in a variety of other positions at the division and section level. He was awarded the Distinguished Alumni Award from the University of Rhode Island Graduate School of Library and Information Studies in 2013 and is a member of Beta Phi Mu, International Library & Information Studies Honor Society.

Also on the ballot were the A.L.C.T.S. division councilor and a director-at-large on the A.L.C.T.S. Board vacancies; both three-year terms. A.LC.T.S. members elected Andrew (Andy) Hart, Head of the Preservation Department at the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill as A.L.C.T.S. Division Councilor and Dr. Karla Hahn Strieb, Associate Director, Collections, Technical Services, and Scholarly Communication at The Ohio State University Libraries, as Director-at-Large on the A.L.C.T.S. Board.

Elected as section chairs for 2015-2016 were: Acquisitions, Jeanne Harrell, Texas A&M; Cataloging and Metadata Management, Bobby Bothmann, Minnesota State University, Mankato; Collection Management, Andrea Wirth, Oregon State University; Continuing Resources, Erin Leach, Columbia University; and Preservation and Reformatting, Annie Peterson, Tulane University.
For more information about the A.L.C.T.S., visit An international member-driven association, the A.L.C.T.S. engages the library community on issues and policies that affect the acquisition, management, discovery, and preservation of library collections.

[1] In the press release, her second middle name was misspelled “Wingyee.”

Report this ad