Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Xbox One to launch in 26 new markets nearly a year after release

Xbox One
Xbox One
The Xbox One will be available in 26 new countries in September of this year. (Microsoft)

Microsoft scaled down the international launch of the Xbox One last November to 13 countries. Officially, this was due to "localization efforts" but the console maker finally announced a new launch date for waiting markets on Tuesday and it comes just two months shy of the original release.

"[T]oday we’re proud to share that it will be available in 26 additional markets in September this year," Xbox Corporate Vice President of Marketing, Strategy and Business Yusuf Mehdi revealed on Xbox Wire.

The confirmed countries include the following:

  • Argentina
  • Belgium
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Finland
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • India
  • Israel
  • Japan
  • Korea
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Russia
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Singapore
  • Slovakia
  • South Africa
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Turkey
  • UAE

Microsoft plans to share more details about the Xbox One launch in those countries in April. The company essentially ceded the console advantage to Sony's Playstation 4 by delaying the Xbox One launch and it shows in the international sales figures. While the Xbox One was just behind the PS4 in February's NPD sales for North America, the PS4 has enjoyed a distinct sales advantage overseas.

You can follow Scott via Facebook, Twitter, RSS feed or email alerts for all the latest game news and deals as well as the weekly Furious Fourcast podcast/videocast. All game news on Examiner can be followed at the Game On Facebook page and Twitter feed.

Report this ad