Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Arts & Entertainment
  3. Music

Wu-Tang Clan's secret album to feature two collaborations with Cher

See also

If Wu-Tang Clan’s upcoming “secret album” wasn’t highly anticipated already, it just got a bit more intriguing. According to Rolling Stone on Wednesday, the album, The Wu-Once Upon a Time in Shaolin, will feature the ageless wonder herself, Cher.

The “Believe” singer contributed vocals to two of the songs on the album, but “recorded her parts separately,” according to a representative for Cher who confirmed the collaboration. The rep also made it clear that there wasn’t any direct interaction between Cher and the rap group, but it doesn’t make the collaboration any less intriguing.

Cher’s appearance on the album, however, shouldn’t come as a surprise. In an announcement on the album’s website late March, it was noted that the album “includes special guest appearances by Bonnie Joe Mason.” For any Cher fans who go way back with the singer, she released her first single “Ringo, I Love You,” under the same name. The song was dedicated to Ringo Starr.

As far as the secret album goes, the group is planning to sell only one copy to the highest bidder and so far, only one “civilian” has heard the album. That lucky person was writer Zack O’Mally Greenberg, who traveled to Marrakesh, Morocco to hear songs from the album. The visit was captured in a video posted by Forbes on Tuesday. In the video, producer Tarik “Cilvaringz” Azzougarh played one song on-camera featuring Ghostface Killah rhyming and at the end of the track, the voice of Cher sings, “Wu-Tang, baby. They rock the world.”

Back in March, Wu-Tang member RZA called the project “a piece of art like nobody else has done in the history of [modern] music.” The group is definitely treating it like art, and with a legendary artist like Cher providing vocals for a couple of the tracks, Wu-Tang Clan may have themselves a masterpiece. It’s just too bad only one person may be able to enjoy the music. At least, that’s what the group wants the music world to believe.


Today's top buzz...

  • Backstreet Boys
    The Backstreet Boys have canceled several upcoming Israel shows, citing safety concerns
    Music Buzz
  • NFL
    The NFL is considering adding a stadium to Los Angeles, but is it a good idea?
    NFL Buzz
  • Hulk Hogan
    Hulk Hogan and Steve Austin are on board for this year's WWE SummerSlam
    WWE News
  • Paul McCartney
    Get an exclusive look at Paul McCartney's soundcheck for a recent performance
    20 Photos
  • Oscar contenders
    Oscar season is about to begin as fall festivals announce films
    9 Photos
  • Sammy Hagar
    Sammy Hagar is taking fans on a raucous history of rock on the road
    20 Photos

Related Videos:

  • Gerald Albright
    <iframe width="560" height="315" src="//;allowfullscreen=true&amp;autoplay=1"></iframe>
  • Red Wanting Blue
    <iframe width="560" height="315" src="//;VQ=HD720&amp;allowfullscreen=true&amp;autoplay=1"></iframe>
  • Asking Alexandria at Mayhem Fest 2014
    <div class="video-info" data-id="294898999" data-param-name="playList" data-provider="5min" data-url=""></div>