Skip to main content
  1. Arts & Entertainment
  2. Books

Writers’ League of Texas hosting their 2014 Book Awards Contest

See also

The Writers’ League of Texas is hosting their book awards contest for any books published in 2013 by a current or past resident of Texas. The awards, previously broken into the Violet Crown Book Awards (founded in 1991) and the Teddy Children's Book Awards (founded in 1996), are now a single contest, recognizing outstanding published books in multiple categories.

The contest is open to both traditionally-published and self-published authors who are current or past residents of Texas with books that were published in 2013. E-books are not eligible for the contest; hard-copy publications only. Authors will be required to show proof of Texas residency.

The categories are:

  • Fiction
  • Nonfiction
  • Poetry & Literary Prose
  • Picture Books
  • Middle Grade & Young Adult Novels

There will be one winner per category. Each winner will receive a $750 cash prize, a commemorative award, and public recognition at the 2014 Texas Book Festival in Austin, Texas.

The cost to enter the contest is $55 per title for non-members and $45 per title for members. The deadline is April 25.

To find out more or to submit an entry, please visit the Writers’ League of Texas website.


Arts & Entertainment

  • Chuck Negron
    Exclusive: Music legend Chuck Negron talks about his tour, career and more
  • Skye McCole Bartusiak
    Actress and producer Skye McCole Bartusiak has died, star was just 21
    Celebrity Buzz
  • James Garner
    Remembering legendary actor James Garner ‘with a smile,’ just the way he wanted
    6 Photos
  • Playskool toys
    Playskool's latest line of toys are a mash up of classics you'll want to play with again
    15 Photos
  • Celebrity mouths
    Can you guess who these famous faces belong to just by looking at their mouths?
    20 Photos
  • 50 Shades of Grey
    Beyoncé gives fans a special sneak peek at the upcoming '50 Shades of Grey' trailer
    Today's Buzz