Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

World MMA Awards 2013 results: Winners, losers, nominees & replay TV information

The Venetian in Las Vegas, Nev., was the site for the sixth annual Fighter’s Only World MMA Awards (2013), and courtesy of MMAJ’s Feb. 8 report, results, winners, losers, nominees and televised replay information of the event is now available.

UFC Middleweight Champion Chris Weidman arrives at the sixth annual Fighters Only World Mixed Martial Arts Awards at The Palazzo Las Vegas on February 7, 2014 in Las Vegas, Nevada.
Photo by Ethan Miller/Getty Images

A total of 22 awards were handed out, honoring some of the biggest names in the world of mixed martial arts for accomplishments dating from Oct. 1, 2012, thru Dec. 31, 2013. The Charles “Mask” Lewis Fighter of the Year was one of the most disputed categories of the night.

However in the end, fans decided that middleweight champion Chris Weidman was most deserving over Vitor Belfort, Urijah Faber, Demetrious Johnson and Cain Velasquez.

The World MMA Awards 2013 was hosted by former UFC title-contender turned FOX analyst, Brian Stann, and The Insider’s Nicole Dabeau. Last night’s festivities got underway with a red carpet filled with A-list celebrities and some of the biggest MMA names of yesterday and today.

Despite not being nominated for any particular category, results show that UFC legend Royce Gracie was the recipient of the World MMA Awards 2013’s Lifetime Achievement Award.

In addition, rising UFC heavyweight star, Travis Browne was named the Breakthrough Fighter of the Year and took home Comeback of the Year honors.

UFC women’s bantamweight champion Ronda Rousey was also among the evening’s big winners, capturing her second straight Female Fighter of the Year crown.

Here’s a look at the complete list of World MMA Awards 2013 results, winners, losers and nominees (replay TV information is set for Sunday, Feb. 16 on FSN, so check local listings):

Charles “Mask” Lewis Fighter of the Year

  • Vitor Belfort
  • Urijah Faber
  • Demetrious Johnson
  • Chris Weidman
  • Cain Velasquez

Female Fighter of the Year

  • Joanne Calderwood
  • Alexis Davis
  • Jessica Eye
  • Holly Holm
  • Ronda Rousey

Breakthrough Fighter of the Year

  • Travis Browne
  • T.J. Grant
  • Conor McGregor
  • Nick Newell
  • Khabib Nurmagomedov

International Fighter of the Year

  • Shinya Aoki
  • Alexander Gustafsson
  • Conor McGregor
  • Khabib Nurmagomedov
  • Alexander Shlemenko

Fight of the Year

  • Wanderlei Silva vs. Brian Stann (UFC on Fuel TV 8)
  • Michael Chandler vs. Eddie Alvarez II (Bellator 106)
  • Jon Jones vs. Alexander Gustafsson (UFC 165)
  • Gilbert Melendez vs. Diego Sanchez (UFC 166)
  • Mark Hunt vs. Antonio Silva (UFC Fight Night 33)

Knockout of the Year

  • Vitor Belfort (UFC on FX 8 vs. Luke Rockhold)
  • Junior Dos Santos (vs. Mark Hunt, UFC 160)
  • Emanuel Newton (vs. “King Mo” Lawal, Bellator 90)
  • Julio Cesar Neves Jr. (vs. Dener Dos Santos, WOCS 28)
  • Chris Weidman (vs. Anderson Silva, UFC 162)

Submission of the Year

  • Olivier Fontaine (vs. Sofian Benchohra, Lyon FC)
  • Josh Burkman (vs. Jon Fitch, WSOF 3)
  • Urijah Faber (UFC 157 vs. Ivan Menjivar)
  • Rose Namajunas (vs. Kathina Catron, Invicta 5)
  • Kenny Robertson (vs. Brock Jardine, UFC 157)

Comeback of the Year

  • Travis Browne (UFC Fight Night 26 vs. Alistair Overeem)
  • Blagoi Ivanov (career)
  • Robbie Lawler (career)
  • Michelle Waterson (vs. Jessica Penne, Invicta 5)
  • Tom Watson (vs. Stanislav Nedkov, UFC on Fuel TV 7)

Shawn Tompkins Coach of the Year

  • Henri Hooft
  • Duane Ludwig
  • Ray Longo
  • Andre Pederneiras
  • Duke Roufus

Gym of the Year

  • AKA
  • Jackson-Winkeljohn MMA
  • Nova Uniao
  • Roufusport
  • Team Alpha Male

Trainer of the Year

  • Doug Balzarini
  • Jake Bonacci
  • Jonathan Chaimberg
  • Mike Dolce
  • Joel Jamieson

Referee of the Year

  • Herb Dean
  • Marc Goddard
  • Yves Lavigne
  • John McCarthy
  • Mario Yamasaki

Ringcard Girl of the Year

  • Jade Bryce
  • Arianny Celeste
  • Kat Kelley
  • Brittney Palmer
  • Mercedes Terrell

Leading Man

  • Victor Cui
  • Lorenzo Fertitta
  • Bjorn Rebney
  • Ray Sefo
  • Dana White

Personality of the Year

  • Bruce Buffer
  • Kenny Florian
  • Joe Rogan
  • Bas Rutten
  • Chael Sonnen

Best Promotion

  • Bellator MMA
  • Cage Warriors
  • ONE FC
  • UFC
  • WSOF

Best Lifestyle Clothing

  • Bad Boy
  • Fear the Fighter
  • Headrush
  • Roots of Fight
  • Torque

Best Technical Clothing

  • Bad Boy
  • Clinch Gear
  • Hayabusa
  • Jaco
  • Venum

Best Technical Equipment

  • Bad Boy
  • Century
  • Everlast
  • Hayabusa
  • Venum

Media Source of the Year

  • Inside MMA (AXS TV)
  • MMA Fighting
  • MMAjunkie
  • Sherdog
  • UFC Tonight (Fox Sports)

Journalist of the Year

  • Mike Chiappetta (Fox Sports)
  • Gareth A Davies (The Daily Telegraph/Fox Sports)
  • Ben Fowlkes (USA TODAY/MMAjunkie)
  • Ariel Helwani (MMA Fighting/Fox Sports)
  • John Morgan (USA TODAY/MMAjunkie)
Report this ad