Skip to main content

See also:

World Cup 2014 schedule: Chile vs Australia live stream soccer TV time & results

Fans hold up an inflatable kangaroo prior to the 2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil Group B match between Chile and Australia at Arena Pantanal on June 13, 2014 in Cuiaba, Brazil.
Fans hold up an inflatable kangaroo prior to the 2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil Group B match between Chile and Australia at Arena Pantanal on June 13, 2014 in Cuiaba, Brazil.
Photo by Matthew Lewis/Getty Images

The final soccer game on Friday’s World Cup 2014 schedule features an intercontinental clash between Chile and Australia, and live streaming and TV broadcasting information are now available. This Group B showdown has a scheduled start time of 6 p.m. EDT (5 p.m. CDT/4 p.m. MDT/3 p.m. PDT) on ESPN2 (national TV) and ESPN3 (free live stream online).

According to a NY Times preview (June 13, 2014), Arena Pantanal in Mato Grosso, Cuiaba, Brazil, will host tonight’s World Cup 2014 finale. Following the Netherlands 5-1 win over Spain, it would appear that Group B just got a whole lot more interesting, especially for Chile and Australia.

In shocking fashion, the defending World Cup champs were humiliated by a Dutch side determined to avenge a loss at the 2010 World Cup Finals in South Africa. The question now becomes: Will the Aussies or the Chileans rise to the challenge and seize this opportunity in the standings?

If 2014 World Cup soccer oddsmakers are correct, the South Americans will prevail this evening in front of a sold-out crowd. Betting lines depict Chile as a -240 favorite to defeat Australia at +700 odds, while the OVER/UNDER is set at a combined total of 2½ goals.

As reported by FIFA’s official website, unlike the earlier matches on today’s World Cup 2014 schedule, tonight’s forecast calls for clear skies, temperatures around 29 degrees Celsius, wind at 14 m/s, and the humidity only at 55 percent. Tonight’s on-field officials will be Noumandiez Doue (referee), Songuifolo Yeo (assistant Referee 1), Jean Claude Birumushahu (assistant referee 2) and Roberto Moreno (fourth official).

The starting lineup for the Chile’s national football team looks like this: C. Bravo, M. Isla, G. Medel, G. Jara, E. Mena, Aránguiz, M. Díaz, A. Vidal, Valdívia, E. Vargas, and A. Sánchez. For Australia, their starting 11 will go as follows: M. Ryan, I. Franjić, Špiranović, Alex Wilkinson, Davidso, Bresciano, Milligan, M. Jedinak, T. Oar, T. Cahill and Mathew Leckie.

After the Netherlands shocking victory over Spain, which of these two teams will step up and take advantage of this improbable result? Watch Chile battle Australia tonight on ESPN2 (national TV) and ESPN3 (free live stream online).