Skip to main content
  1. Sports
  2. College Sports

Wolf Pack puts five on Mountain West teams

See also

The Nevada Wolf Pack placed five players on this year's Mountain West All-Conference team.

Offensive tackle Joel Bitonio and defensive end Brock Hekking were named First Team. Punter Chase Tenpenny was named Second Team and wide receiver Brandon Wimberly and defensive back Charles Garrett were named Honorable Mention.

The All-Conference football teams and individual award winners were selected by the 12 head coaches and select media panel.

Fresno State senior quarterback Derek Carr was chosen as the Mountain West Offensive Player of the Year for the second straight season while Colorado State senior linebacker Shaquil Barrett was named Defensive Player of the Year. New Mexico sophomore kick returner Carlos Wiggins earned the Special Teams Player of the Year award while San José State wide receiver Tyler Winston was honored as the Freshman of the Year. Matt Wells of Utah State was selected as the Coach of the Year.

Five players were repeat First Team selections from 2012, including four from Fresno State. Carr, wide receiver Davante Adams, offensive lineman Austin Wentworth and defensive back Derron Smith were all first-team selections last year for the Bulldogs, while Boise State defensive lineman Demarcus Lawrence makes his second straight appearance on the first team.

Carr is just the fourth quarterback in the 15-year history of the Mountain West to earn First Team All-Conference honors in consecutive seasons. Carr joins Colorado State’s Bradlee Van Pelt (2002-03), BYU’s John Beck (2005-06) and TCU’s Andy Dalton (2009-10) on the list.

Charles Leno, Jr. (Boise State offensive lineman), Jared Roberts (Colorado State placekicker), Hekking and Nat Berhe (San Diego State defensive Back) are all First Team selections in 2013 after being second-team honorees in 2012.

UNLV’s Devante Davis is the first Rebel wide receiver to be named to the All-Conference team since Ryan Wolfe earned first-team honors in 2009. Davis is a second-team honoree. Tim Cornett is the first UNLV running back to be named to the All-Conference team since Dominique Dorsey was a first-team selection in 2004. Cornett earned second-team honors.



  • Legendary swimmer Michael Phelps is coming out of retirement, will he compete in Rio?
    Recreational Sports
  • Check out the NHL Ice Girls that are heating up rinks all across the country
    20 Photos
  • 49ers LB Aldon Smith arrested at LAX Airport for false bomb threat
    NFL News
  • Eagles running back LeSean McCoy slams Tim Tebow on Twitter
    NFL News
  • Never watched rugby before? Here's 20 reasons you should start
    20 Photos
  • Wiz kid: Washington Wizards sign 10-year-old with cancer to contract
    NBA News

User login

Log in
Sign in with your email and password. Or reset your password.
Write for us
Interested in becoming an Examiner and sharing your experience and passion? We're always looking for quality writers. Find out more about and apply today!